Question: Say if I have units with savage engaged combat. They take damage that triggers their ability. I have other units that also take damage. I use the Temple Guard's ability to transfer the damage to the units with savage. Does this count as damage being dealt to them a second time so I can use their savage ability again, or is this lumped in with the previous damage dealt so the ability is not triggered again?
Temple Guard and Savage
Is there no one who can answer my question? Not even an FFG employee?
High Elves 77 said:
Is there no one who can answer my question? Not even an FFG employee?
FFGs employees don't participate on these forums at all, so you will never get a rules response from them. You can try emailing support with a question via the link at the bottom, but good luck with that. I'm still waiting on my last 8 questions.
The best bet is generally to try and get a consensus from the forum-goers. I'd give you some sort of answer, but don't think the rules surrounding "dealing" and "dealt" damage are consistent at all, so I don't have much confidence in my reasoning.
I don't think redirection alters the timing of damage being dealt, especially in this case since it's all coming from a single source (combat damage). Now if you redirected direct (wombat)damage AND there was combat damage, then yes, savage could trigger two times.
I don't know a better way of interpreting that, but here is my problem with it.
Temple Guard: ACTION: Spend 1 resource to redirect the next 2 damage dealt to target unit you control to another target unit you control
Dealt Damage (FAQ v1.1)
A unit has been dealt damage, if at least one damage is applied to it after damage cancellation effects occur during the Apply Damage step.. A unit is not dealt damage until at least 1 damage is successfully applied.
So the timing on redirecting the "next X damage dealt" doesn't make any sense. Its not dealt until it has been applied, and by then its too late to redirect it. There are cards that say "redirect the next X damage that WOULD be dealt" (Steel's Bane), and that seems to be the way it should work, but it seems they intend to make a distinction between the two.
For what its worth, my playgroup plays it like qwertyuiop said. We:
-Assign damage
-Action window ("redirect next X damage dealt" cards can be played here)
-Apply any cancellation effects (ie toughness)
-Apply redirection effects by just moving the damage tokens that have been assigned (redirected combat damage is still prevented by Swordmasters of Hoeth, though, as moving assigned damage tokens is not the same as moving applied damage that is already on a unit)
-Apply all the damage, remove dead units and resolve "damage has been dealt" effects.