Temple Guard and Clumsy Elves Questions

By wraith428, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

Been working on a High Elf healing deck that Wichtel has done an amazing write up on. You can read about it here http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp?efpag=1&efid=155&efcid=4&efidt=409341

Some questions on some of the cards for this deck.

Keeper of the Flame : ACTION: This unit takes 1 uncancellable damage. If it does, destroy target Attachment support card.

Question here is can the Keeper take its action if there is no Attachment support card to target. Does this fall under the ruling of Multiple Effects (p7 FAQ v1.2) or does it need a Target (p9 FAQ v1.2)? It seems that it’s a Multiple Effect to me so you can deal damage to the Keeper of the Flame without the need for an Attachment to use the second part of the effect. The second part just fizzles.

Lion Chariot of Chrace: ACTION: This unit takes 1 uncancellable damage. If it does, it gains Counterstrike 2 until the end of the turn.

Question… is this a conditional action. Can you do it multiple times in the same turn? Same goes for Keeper of the Flame and Dreamer of Dragons.


Temple Guard: ACTION: Spend 1 resource to redirect the next 2 damage dealt to target unit you control to another target unit you control.

Question… does this ability stack? Let’s say I have 3 hit point unit defending a zone against 6 damage. Also lets say my opponent really wants that defending unit dead so he throws all 6 damage on the unit. Can I spend 2 resources on the Temple Guard to redirect 4 of that damage to other units leaving my unit alive? Or does it only affect the “next 2” damage. What if I have 2 Temple Guards?

Thanks,

-Wraith428

1) No. No valid target means no action

2) You can do it multiple times in a turn.

3) Yes it stacks

1) Since they used 2 sentences and the first is the one with the damage in it I think they can damage themselves without a target. You would have been right if it was worded like this: "Destroy target attachment, if you do this unit takes 1 uncancellable damage." But I am biased ;) .

I'm with Wichtel on the Keepers of the Flame. I think its a Multiple Effect (FAQ v1.2 p.7)


Multiple Effects

If a card has multiple effects, all effects on the card resolve if possible. These effects resolve independently of each other with the following important
exception:


If a card uses the word “then” the preceding effect must have resolved successfully before the effect following the term “then” can be resolved.

Since the Keeper doesn't use "then" it seems like both would resolve if possible. The Keeper a) takes damage and b) destroys target attachment. a) should happen almost all the time [can't think of a reason why it wouldn't take damage???] and b) is situational.

Wraith428

Sining said:

3) Yes it stacks

For #3 Temple Guard - Can you sight a source for the stacking? Is there a rule somewhere on stacking that I'm missing. In general it looks like most things stack?

Wraith428

For question 3, it doesn't say "redirect two damage", but "redirect the next two damage", which makes me think it will not stack on a single target. You could use it multiple times on different targets though. It's like that quest that redirects the first point of damage from your capital... that does not stack either.

Just my opinion, but you can use the submit rule question link at the bottom of the page to send it to FFG.

EDIT: I thought this question was about Counterstrike 2 stacking, not "next 2 damage dealt" stacking. So I answered the wrong question but can't delete my post.

From the FAQ:

Note that when a unit is gaining Counterstrike from multiple sources, the numerical effects stack on top of each other.

Each triggering of the card qualifies as a separate "source" (afaik).