Confused about the rules, PLEASE HELP...... :)

By subzeroeds, in Runewars

I was playing with my buddies last night and these scenarios that got us all confused,

1. An elf archer was attacking a human footman, both are on Initiative 1 and drew fate cards with special abilities icons.

Now, since the archer "snipes" the footman, will the footman be able to perform "valiant strike" on the archer when he's dead?

Or is it that they must simulteneously strike and kill each other at the same moment? Is there an order to resolving this?

2. When during a battle a necromancer performs "animate dead". Do these "animated figures" get to draw "Fate Cards"?

2a. Do the "animated unit" remain as a valid playable unit after the battle? Or are they just temporary?

3. When cities are destroyed, is there any way that they can be rebuilt?

4. At one point during our game there was an important tactical decision that involves moving my units away

from a hex that contains my stronghold. But by doing that, my stronghold will be vulnerable. Am I permitted

to "destroy" my stronghold? ( at this point I still haven't built up to 4 strongholds yet)

Thx

subzeroeds said:

I was playing with my buddies last night and these scenarios that got us all confused,

1. An elf archer was attacking a human footman, both are on Initiative 1 and drew fate cards with special abilities icons.

Now, since the archer "snipes" the footman, will the footman be able to perform "valiant strike" on the archer when he's dead?

Or is it that they must simulteneously strike and kill each other at the same moment? Is there an order to resolving this?

First, Human Footmen are on initiative 3 :) The Human Bowmen are on Initiative 1.

However, if the Elf is attacking, and he draws an Orb to snipe the Human Bowman, the Human Bowman ability will still trigger. ALL cards are resolved, even if the unit dies due to the attacker-first rule.

The only exception is for abilities that require "standing" units. For example, if a single Latari Pegasus Rider gets an Orb against a single Uthuk Berserker, and the Berserker is routed, if the Berserker also pulled an orb, it would have no effect. The card itself is still used, but the Orb ability for the Berserker requires you to sacrifice a STANDING Berserker, and so if it's routed, you no longer have a valid unit to sacrifice.

subzeroeds said:

2. When during a battle a necromancer performs "animate dead". Do these "animated figures" get to draw "Fate Cards"?

2a. Do the "animated unit" remain as a valid playable unit after the battle? Or are they just temporary?

Yes, the newly created Reanimates WILL draw Fate Cards during the Initiative 4. And they remain after the battle, as well. The Necromancer ability and the Daqan Knight ability to draw Tactics Cards are (currently) the only abilities that have effects that can linger after the battle.

subzeroeds said:

3. When cities are destroyed, is there any way that they can be rebuilt?

No, a destroyed city is gone for the rest of the game.

subzeroeds said:

4. At one point during our game there was an important tactical decision that involves moving my units away

from a hex that contains my stronghold. But by doing that, my stronghold will be vulnerable. Am I permitted

to "destroy" my stronghold? ( at this point I still haven't built up to 4 strongholds yet)

No, you cannot scrap a stronghold voluntarily. The only way you could do that is if you had 4 Strongholds already and wanted to build a 5th. You could then discard one of your other strongholds and rebuild another one. But that is the ONLY time you can just scrap it.

However, keep in mind that even if you don't have any units in the area, if the enemy attacks the area, a "battle" is still fought. That means that the attacker would still have to bring in enough units to beat the Stronghold's strength, and you ARE allowed to play cards like Summon Lightning as well. So even an empty stronghold can be a good defense (especially if you have a Scorched Earth card to destroy it after it is attacked to prevent your opponent getting it).

Thanks!!! I can finally get to sleep later......... :)