questions about toads and missing your turn

By shadow?, in Talisman Rules Questions

I recently got this game and tried a two player game with a friend. On my turn i drew the siren, which states that everyone in the region misses their next turn. The space i drew it on was on a draw one card space. since i didn't have any other encounters coming up after this one, according to the rulebook i have to miss my next turn. so my friend missed a turn then i missed a turn then it's back to him. It's as if nothing happened. am i making some sort of mistake here? Also later in the game my friend got turned into a toad. so he dropped all his objects, followers and gold onto the space he was in. After he makes his next move can he just waltz back and pick up what he dropped or does he have to wait until he's back to normal? Also the toad card says when you turn back to normal you keep everything you had before being a toad minus objects, gold, lives, and fate lost as a toad or something like that. does this mean any objects and followers you gain through encounters as a toad you lose when you turn back to normal? Help will be appreciated.

shadow? said:

I recently got this game and tried a two player game with a friend. On my turn i drew the siren, which states that everyone in the region misses their next turn. The space i drew it on was on a draw one card space. since i didn't have any other encounters coming up after this one, according to the rulebook i have to miss my next turn. so my friend missed a turn then i missed a turn then it's back to him. It's as if nothing happened. am i making some sort of mistake here? Also later in the game my friend got turned into a toad. so he dropped all his objects, followers and gold onto the space he was in. After he makes his next move can he just waltz back and pick up what he dropped or does he have to wait until he's back to normal? Also the toad card says when you turn back to normal you keep everything you had before being a toad minus objects, gold, lives, and fate lost as a toad or something like that. does this mean any objects and followers you gain through encounters as a toad you lose when you turn back to normal? Help will be appreciated.

It would be strange if a toad-ed Character could benefit from his/her 1 space movement to pick everything up... Toads cannot have Object and Followers (look at the Toad Card, no "Object" and "Followers" to be seen at the bottom). You don't gain anything as a Toad, even Strength/Craft points gained as a Toad are lost when you turn back to normal.

The only one thing you keep (but cannot acquire or use) as a Toad are Spell cards.

Are you sure you keep your spells? I was under the impression that with a single point in craft, the player is forced to get rid of their spells because they don't meet the craft prerequisite. The example of gaining and losing spells in the official rulebook uses a wizard with that crown magic object that grants +2 craft, giving him a 7 or something total craft, and he has 3 spells. He then lands on the Cursed glade, which nullifies the crown for that time being, reducing his craft to 5, and also making him, according to the rulebook, discard one spell of his choice because he doesn't have enough craft.

I would think the Toad works the same way.

"Toads can neither gain nor cast Spells, but a character’s Spell
Cards are not lost upon transformation into a Toad. They
simply cannot be used until the character reverts back to his
original form." (p. 16)

Dam said:

"Toads can neither gain nor cast Spells, but a character’s Spell
Cards are not lost upon transformation into a Toad. They
simply cannot be used until the character reverts back to his
original form." (p. 16)

Yeah, whoops, I checked later last night and read that very same thing. Whoops!