Hello everyone,
I've checked the forums here and haven't found an answer to a real head-scratcher of a question, so here goes... Look at the Rogue Trader rulebook, page 219. The rules as written are thus: "If there is any question between whether a target is in a ship's fore or aft arcs or in its side arcs, (...) the target is considered to be in the side arc." However, diagrams 8.2 and 8.3 on the same page appear to contradict this. Which is correct?
Here's why it matters; take a look at this example: Suppose you have a Lunar cruiser, The Pompous Name , heading Galactic East. One VU immediately behind The Pompous Name is a Hazeroth raider, The Scrappy . The Scrappy has just taken its turn, and has fired a lance shot up the The Pompous Name's tailpipes. On it's turn, The Pompous Name takes a default manoeuvre of a half speed move with a 45 degree turn at the end, leaving it facing South-East with The Scrappy due West at short range. (Incidentally, half speed equals 2 or 3 for a Lunar?) If the text is correct, then The Scrappy is in The Pompous Name's side arc, and is about to eat a full broadside plus the prow guns for its impertinence. However, if the diagrams are correct, then the raider is in the cruiser's aft arc... and the cruiser is doomed in a few more turns. There is no way for the much less manoeuverable Lunar to get a raider off its tail, or even to bring the raider into a valid firing arc. (Because of the minimum move requirement, not even come to new heading will work.)
Your thoughts? If the diagrams are correct, I'm going to have to write another house rule... it's too cheesy otherwise.
Cheers,
- V.