The rules as written state that:
"A single skill can only be trained once per character rank. If one of those skills is already trained, the character can choose to instead spend the advance a specialisation for the appropriate skill."
Assuming you are level one, does this mean that if you didn't train it during character creation you can train it but then cannot purchase a specialisation during your time in that rank? Furthermore, when you complete a career the rulebook states "the character learns a specialisation for each of that career's key skills he trained during his time in that career." How does that interact with skills that you trained during character creation and then specialised in during the course of completing your first career? Does that mean that you could end Rank 1 with two specialisations?