A few questions

By inkblob, in Talisman Rules Questions

If you have more than Magic Object Weapon in your possession that gives you a +bonus in Strength or Craft in battle, do you get the bonus only if you have the weapon equipped? The question came up and we sided on the no side, but curious as I couldn't find anything to say otherwise.

If the Druid is carrying the Sword of Light, or some other sort of alignment based object, and then gets his alignment turned at something like the Mystic, does he have to immediately drop the object, or is his ability to change his alignment at will istantaneous?

Is it safe to assume that clockwise is always forward and counterclockwise is backwards? It's impossible to figure out which way is which on the Highlands and Dungeon as the direction would switch depending on which layer of the snakey path you are on.

Can you ditch Followers?

Also, if someone rolls doubles when about to fight the Basilisk, is there any way to prevent that character from being killed? We run into the basilisk every few games and a couple of times the rolls have been something like a 5 & 6, which we felt was a real close call. Tonight, the Alchemist got snake eyes, nice huh. He was *set* to win the game too, within the first 20 minutes he was owning the board with a lot of real lucky draws. He desperately tried to use Restoration, but that allowed the restoration of one life lost, not being outright killed...

This was brought up somewhere else in the forums, not sure where and not sure the answer either. If I have the Black Ice Spell and put it on the Eagle King or LOD square, what would happen? Would they slide off onto any location they wanted to in the Outer or Middle Region? Would they bump up against it and slide back? I was in a situation where I could have done this, put Black Ice on the Eagle King, and really would have to as it was the Vampiress and I was a Druid with a tonne of tasty followers. She was hunting me the whole game, my basic strategy was to keep well away from her and if I couldn't, right on her. With a bunch of well timed teleports, I was able to stay 1 or 2 regions away at pretty much all times. I didn't do the Black Ice spell as was sure it would create chaos, and knew that she was going to put up a pretty big fuss anyways after I shattered her Concealed Pouch that had a Runesword in it, but was able to avoid the situation by whisking myself off to the Dungeon in time.

inkblob said:

If you have more than Magic Object Weapon in your possession that gives you a +bonus in Strength or Craft in battle, do you get the bonus only if you have the weapon equipped? The question came up and we sided on the no side, but curious as I couldn't find anything to say otherwise.

If the Druid is carrying the Sword of Light, or some other sort of alignment based object, and then gets his alignment turned at something like the Mystic, does he have to immediately the object, or is his ability to change his alignment at will istantaneous?

Is it safe to assume that clockwise is always forward and counterclockwise is backwards? It's impossible to figure out which way is which on the Highlands and Dungeon as the direction would switch depending on which layer of the snakey path you are on.

Can you ditch Followers?

answer1: You only get the bonus if you equiped the weapon in battle or psychic combat. you can only choose 1 weapon in combat

answer 2: yes, he must ditch the object as soon he changed allignment

answer 3: there is only one way towards the lord of darkness or the eagle king. If you walk out the dungeon, then you go backwards gui%C3%B1o.gif

answer 4: yes, you can ditch followers any time, same as objects

Velhart said:

answer1: You only get the bonus if you equiped the weapon in battle or psychic combat. you can only choose 1 weapon in combat

answer 2: yes, he must the object as soon he changed allignment

answer 3: there is only one way towards the lord of darkness or the eagle king. If you walk out the dungeon, then you go backwards gui%C3%B1o.gif

answer 4: yes, you can ditch followers any time, same as objects

1: good we played that right

2: didn't play that right

3: played that right

4: we didn't do it, but good to know, thanks!

Also, if you are at your maximum amount of objects and you pull another object that is disposable, such as a chest that you roll the die, do you have to drop something in order to use it? I'm not certain on how that's been played in our games, but I have the feeling that it's kind of a grey area and people are not counting it towards objects and using it up, I might be guilty of that myself.

inkblob said:

Also, if someone rolls doubles when about to fight the Basilisk, is there any way to prevent that character from being killed?

I think that there is nothing that can prevent you from being killed at this moment..

inkblob said:

If I have the Black Ice Spell and put it on the Eagle King or LOD square, what would happen?

This was already discuss somewhere, but i don;t think that there was a answer..

I think that you must end your move on the lord of darkness space

inkblob said:

Also, if you are at your maximum amount of objects and you pull another object that is disposable, such as a chest that you roll the die, do you have to something in order to use it? I'm not certain on how that's been played in our games, but I have the feeling that it's kind of a grey area and people are not counting it towards objects and using it up, I might be guilty of that myself.

Yes, if you are at your maximum objects, then you must first ditch something, before you can use the chest

Velhart said:

inkblob said:

Also, if someone rolls doubles when about to fight the Basilisk, is there any way to prevent that character from being killed?

BASILISK AHHHHH!!!

One of my friends had a 5 player game and everyone died by the Basilisk??? Imagine that... "Ahhahh I will kill it its eas.... oh wait"...

Velhart said:

inkblob said:

If you have more than Magic Object Weapon in your possession that gives you a +bonus in Strength or Craft in battle, do you get the bonus only if you have the weapon equipped? The question came up and we sided on the no side, but curious as I couldn't find anything to say otherwise.

If the Druid is carrying the Sword of Light, or some other sort of alignment based object, and then gets his alignment turned at something like the Mystic, does he have to immediately the object, or is his ability to change his alignment at will istantaneous?

Is it safe to assume that clockwise is always forward and counterclockwise is backwards? It's impossible to figure out which way is which on the Highlands and Dungeon as the direction would switch depending on which layer of the snakey path you are on.

Can you ditch Followers?

answer1: You only get the bonus if you equiped the weapon in battle or psychic combat. you can only choose 1 weapon in combat

answer 2: yes, he must ditch the object as soon he changed allignment

answer 3: there is only one way towards the lord of darkness or the eagle king. If you walk out the dungeon, then you go backwards gui%C3%B1o.gif

answer 4: yes, you can ditch followers any time, same as objects

Velhart, I think answer 2 is not correct. The Druid can immediately react to any effect that changes Alignment just like he can switch Alignment instantly to get benefit from an Event or such. If he were forced to an Object because his alignment is changed, he will be just like any other Character.

The only limitation for the Druid is that he can voluntarily change Alignment only once in a Turn. Now that we have Spells that change Alignment, he might be forced in some situation to Change Alignment many times in a turn. For example, he draws Mefistopheles, changes to Evil, prevents the change with his ability (immediately back to Neutral) but then another Character casts Temporary Change (to Evil) and the Druid can't voluntarily shift Alignment anymore. Let's suppose he has some Objects like Holy Lance, Holy Grail: he has to them.

It says on his card that he can change his alignment at will, with no other descriptions on time limitations. Being the Druid, I opted to interpret that as instananeous as that served my interests very well at the time, but we keep a notepad for questions like this while we play. There's wiggle room for interpretation in this ability, and it's kind of important as alignment is quite the balancing act for him.

Yeah the Druid.

We play he can only do it Once each of his turns. Same with the Alchemy we play him like he can only pay gold of spells upto he's spell limit.

Even then the Alchemy is still nasty :)

The_Warlock said:

answer1: You only get the bonus if you equiped the weapon in battle or psychic combat. you can only choose 1 weapon in combat

answer 2: yes, he must ditch the object as soon he changed allignment

answer 3: there is only one way towards the lord of darkness or the eagle king. If you walk out the dungeon, then you go backwards gui%C3%B1o.gif

answer 4: yes, you can ditch followers any time, same as objects

Velhart, I think answer 2 is not correct. The Druid can immediately react to any effect that changes Alignment just like he can switch Alignment instantly to get benefit from an Event or such. If he were forced to an Object because his alignment is changed, he will be just like any other Character.

The only limitation for the Druid is that he can voluntarily change Alignment only once in a Turn. Now that we have Spells that change Alignment, he might be forced in some situation to Change Alignment many times in a turn. For example, he draws Mefistopheles, changes to Evil, prevents the change with his ability (immediately back to Neutral) but then another Character casts Temporary Change (to Evil) and the Druid can't voluntarily shift Alignment anymore. Let's suppose he has some Objects like Holy Lance, Holy Grail: he has to them.

What i mean is, if the druid is carrying for example the Runesword because he is evil, and he change to good at the Mystic, then he must ditch the Runesword.

After that, he can change to evil again with his own ability, as you said.

inkblob said:

It says on his card that he can change his alignment at will, with no other descriptions on time limitations. Being the Druid, I opted to interpret that as instananeous as that served my interests very well at the time, but we keep a notepad for questions like this while we play. There's wiggle room for interpretation in this ability, and it's kind of important as alignment is quite the balancing act for him.

The Rulebook gives an important limitation to Druid's ability, but it's often overseen since it is a rule that's not applied too often. I cannot quote you the paragraph because I don't have Rulebook here (some problems in the download too), but there's a specific rule that "no Character, even the Druid, can change Alignment more than once in a turn". I asked how to deal with forced alignment changes and I received an official answer (unfortunately lost in this Rules section) where the statement is corrected into: "the Druid cannot voluntarily change Alignment more than once in a turn".

@Velhart: Druid ability allows you to adapt your Alignment at once, otherwise it has no use! If you draw Evil Darkness you're allowed to switch alignment to Evil before you miss the turn; do you agree? What's the difference then? If you could not change Alignment after a forced Alignment change, in order to avoid a negative outcome, the ability becomes useless. Better not cast Temporary Change on the Druid, because he's immune (provided he doesn't change Alignment again in the same turn).

The_Warlock said:

inkblob said:

It says on his card that he can change his alignment at will, with no other descriptions on time limitations. Being the Druid, I opted to interpret that as instananeous as that served my interests very well at the time, but we keep a notepad for questions like this while we play. There's wiggle room for interpretation in this ability, and it's kind of important as alignment is quite the balancing act for him.

The Rulebook gives an important limitation to Druid's ability, but it's often overseen since it is a rule that's not applied too often. I cannot quote you the paragraph because I don't have Rulebook here (some problems in the download too), but there's a specific rule that "no Character, even the Druid, can change Alignment more than once in a turn". I asked how to deal with forced alignment changes and I received an official answer (unfortunately lost in this Rules section) where the statement is corrected into: "the Druid cannot voluntarily change Alignment more than once in a turn".

@Velhart: Druid ability allows you to adapt your Alignment at once, otherwise it has no use! If you draw Evil Darkness you're allowed to switch alignment to Evil before you miss the turn; do you agree? What's the difference then? If you could not change Alignment after a forced Alignment change, in order to avoid a negative outcome, the ability becomes useless. Better not cast Temporary Change on the Druid, because he's immune (provided he doesn't change Alignment again in the same turn).

I agree that the druid can switch his alignment before(or after) he encounters Evil Darkness. We have discuss this somewhere on the forums.

But if the druid has changed his aligment at the mystic(forced) he must still ditch his objects that are forbidden for that aligment, after that, he can changed his aligment at will.

Velhart said:

The_Warlock said:

I agree that the druid can switch his alignment before(or after) he encounters Evil Darkness. We have discuss this somewhere on the forums.

But if the druid has changed his aligment at the mystic(forced) he must still ditch his objects that are forbidden for that aligment, after that, he can changed his aligment at will.

Well, maybe the way the Druid ability is stated (at any given time, you may be of only one Alignment) is confusing, since it leads to think "of which Alignment am I now?" But I believe it is only meant to avoid abuses like the Druid praying at the Chapel and keeping the Runesword as in the Character Card example.

I still believe that if the ruling is as per your mystic example (change Alignment by force = for a second you're of that Alignment and cannot use the ability to prevent loss of Objects), then in the evil darkness example you're already non-evil, so you cannot use the ability to change Alignment before you meet the conditions that make you lose the turn.

I think the Druid should be quite safe in all situations concerning Alignment and cannot be forced to be of an Alignment before being able to use his ability. We already spoke about this in the past and I see that we're still of the same (opposite) opinion. The thing that surprises me is the lack of participation from other users to this discussion, it would be useful to have some other idea about this old issue.

For the cards text purpose, moving toward LoD or EK in Dungeon/Highland, is considered clockwise, while moving away from them is considered counter-clockwise.