Talent Combo - Valid?

By gsoul, in WFRP Rules Questions

Greetings,

One of my players is playing a thief. He recently picked up two talent cards, one Focus (I forget the name) and the other a Tactic (I'll sleep when I'm dead).

First question - There appears to be no rules forbidding the player from picking up talents outside his slot types (thieves can't slot tactics), so I allowed it. Did I mess up here?

Second question - The Focus he picked up (forget the name) allows him to exhaust it, and place any other talent card (even outside the slot type) in it's place. When my player picks up fatigue, he exhausts this card which allows him to slot "I'll sleep when I'm dead" (exhaust to immediately remove 2 fatigue), then exhausts it, recovering two fatigue. The net effect appears to be 4 counters on each talent card. My question is, do they recharge at the same time? Rules as written, it would appear to. This combo, if valid, is strong, but of course, not broken or unstoppable (as characters that can slot tactics can use ISWID approximately every 4 turns).

Thanks in advance!

I believe you're talking about the focus card 'Creative Thinking' from the Gathering Storm set (I believe).

I personally enjoy this card for two things. One: It allows some classes that could (or should) have a different socket slot to pick one up. For example, my Sigmarite Priest would gain access to Tactics and possibly Reputations (namely Fearless). Secondly you can customize your character a bit (A more thuggish rogue for example), and use those talent cards from y our previous careers that you didn't mysteriously just forget about (something that I really wish was more integrated than the occasional party card).

BUT to answer your question: Yes, it would remove one token from each. Remember that non-career talents (those not having an appropriate slot on your sheet) cost 2 advances to buy. So in essence your player is paying ALOT more in order to have something that is a basic ability for many other classes. In other words I wouldn't worry about balance (as it doesn't make any of the cards MORE powerful, and you can only swap the talent if its recharged, and the card on top of it is as well).

Thanks for the response Shinma - spot on as always!

gsoul said:

question - There appears to be no rules forbidding the player from picking up talents outside his slot types (thieves can't slot tactics), so I allowed it. Did I mess up here?

Character Creation: p31 You can choose any Talent type.

Character Advancement: p35&p37 You can only choose Talents from you career card, but you can pay 2 Advances to take a card outside your career as a non-career advance.