Invoking Blessings and Currying Favour

By Sausageman, in WFRP Rules Questions

I'm sat here reading the Tome of Blessings rules sections, and while it took me a little while to get the whole 'reverse of spellcasting' thing right in my head, I then became really confused with Curry Favour. The action card states you can only use it after you have successfully invoked a blessing, but don't have enough favor. However, a few paragraphs down, titled 'In Great Need', it states that if you invoke a blessing and generate favour on the same turn, you add a challenge die to the Curry Favour action.

What am I missing here? Isn't the only time you can Curry Favour when you need it for a blessing, and therefore you'd do it right away? Or are you able to Curry favour as an action, when you have a blessing waiting to 'go off' because there wasn't enough favour to power it? *urgh, head hurts*

Also, slightly related, at what point do you put recharge counters on a blessing - at the point of attempting to invoke it, or the point when it has enough favour on it to 'go off'?

You invoke blessing on your turn, if you have enough favour it goes off.

If you don't, then it doesn't.

Next turn you can Curry Favour, see it has enough favour now to go off. This is a normal action Curry Favour.

Oh, you're in a hurry, don't want to wait till next turn, then "Curry Favour" in great need, do it on same turn, but with challenge die.

It's the inverse of wizard channel on same turn as cast, so add challenge die to spell.

What I'm wondering is how you can ever go over double your Willpower in Favour. The only ways I can see is if either you attempt a blessing that requires that much Favour, or if you invoke your faith card bonus (many of which give free Favour when something happens) a number of times in a row.

The blessing beeing invoked (at least one success on the test [invocation | Piety]) will activate only when enough power are on it. The recharge tokens are only put on the card when it is resolved (effects are actives). The problem is when do you put hem on.

Valv is missleading in that the Blessing doesnt activate right away when you gain new Favors (after invoking a Blessing) thru either Curry Favor or End of turn way to Equilibrium.

If you don't do "in time of need" quickcast option, the next turn your blessing still won't be activated, because you check only at the beginning of turn phase if you have new favors to put on an awaiting Blessing. That means the Blessing can be activated turn +2 (in the begining phase of your turn), 1st you invoke, 2nd you Curry, 3rd you have it on and have your action+manoeuvre(s) left. Better use the quickcast option and eat the challenge die on the Curry Favors to have it activated turn +1.

I made a post similar about that a few days ago, quoting the book to detail the (weird) process. Here 4th message

Thanks for clarification.

In terms of it being hard to go over twice willpower, I think it says somewhere that the up-side of the priest approach compared to wizard (if downside is you're slower) is that you're less likely to suffer the problems of exceeding double willpower.

valvorik said:

Thanks for clarification.

In terms of it being hard to go over twice willpower, I think it says somewhere that the up-side of the priest approach compared to wizard (if downside is you're slower) is that you're less likely to suffer the problems of exceeding double willpower.

I know it's supposed to be hard, but I don't know if it's even possible.

Doc.

The answer is Yes for non standard amounts of willpower. If you're playing a rogue that has a starting WP of 2, your double cap is 4, which is far too low for some blessings when you pick up Renald as a divine patron. See what I mean? In other words - its more common if you aren't born a priest. ^_~

Even an average WP of 3 only means a cap of 6. It's possible with a good roll on Curry favor to get too much. It's easier for Wizards, of course.

Doc, the Weasel said:

valvorik said:

Thanks for clarification.

In terms of it being hard to go over twice willpower, I think it says somewhere that the up-side of the priest approach compared to wizard (if downside is you're slower) is that you're less likely to suffer the problems of exceeding double willpower.

I know it's supposed to be hard, but I don't know if it's even possible.

It's only really likely to happen when you are trying to cast a high favour cost spell compared to your WP, and you are low on favour at the start of the turn.

First they invoke the blessing, but its short on favour, so also uses curry favour.

As CWell2101 pointed out, favour is only consumed at the beginning of turn phase, so this means if the priest has just used the curry favour action, that favour sticks around until beginning of turn phase, which means it will be checked for at the end of turn phase and cause a stress hit if it's too high.

The priest could choose a lower success line on the curry favour action, avoiding the stress, but this could mean they will have insufficient favour to complete the spell at the start of next turn and so they would have to curry favor again...

The priest generally has far more control over spell power than a wizard because he has the option of drip feeding it in over multiple turns, but sometimes that spell can't wait 4 turns to be completed....

Conversely, the wizard has a chance to get a lot of power but then quick cast and use it all in one turn BEFORE power level vs WP needs checking at end of turn phase, so with good rolls the wizard can risk having power greater than 2Xwp and not worry about it, but they have no "safe" option alternative like the priest does.