Question on hydra spell and toadify

By Persiatic, in Talisman Rules Questions

Hi all

So on our last session a player casted a hydraspell on a toadify and wanted all players to be affected. So what I understand of hydraspell is that it will act like you copy the spell you "hydra" and cast it on each player at a time.

So what happened was that when he rolled for toadify of the first target he got toaded himself and I stated that as toad you can't cast any more spells therefore couldn't continue cast toadify on the rest of the players. But he stated that even if he become toad he should be able to cast on the others because it was in the same turn.

In the end he gave into the logic that hydra is like casting invidual spells on each player and because he became toad he coldn't keep on casting. But I would like to know if this was rightfully played or not?

Regards

You are right.

As soon as you are transformed in a toad, you can't cast any more spells on other players.

Actually you are wrong!

Player A casts Toadify on player B when they are about to engage in battle. Player B then immediately casts Hydra Spell and nominates the other characters it will affect (C and D).

Player A rolls a 1 for the original Toadify and becomes a Toad himself (follow normal procedure for becoming a Toad).

Player A then rolls a die for player C (it doesn't matter that he is now a Toad as the Hydra Spell has already been cast - he just rolls to see what happens to the character).

Finally player A rolls a die for player D!

That's the correct way to handle this scenario.

Ell.

If player A had not been toaded on the first roll, he may have been on the second or third roll!!!

Ell

talismanamsilat said:

Actually you are wrong!

Player A casts Toadify on player B when they are about to engage in battle. Player B then immediately casts Hydra Spell and nominates the other characters it will affect (C and D).

Player A rolls a 1 for the original Toadify and becomes a Toad himself (follow normal procedure for becoming a Toad).

Player A then rolls a die for player C (it doesn't matter that he is now a Toad as the Hydra Spell has already been cast - he just rolls to see what happens to the character).

Finally player A rolls a die for player D!

That's the correct way to handle this scenario.

Ell.

But player B has cast the hydra spell, so he should copy toadify on player C and D and can effect A too..

so player B must roll for the toadify to cast it on C, D and A

Player A has change in a toad, with the original toadify and can't cast spells

Player A still rolls the die for the Toadify Spell. It doesn't matter if he is a Toad or not. He is just seeing if it works on the other players.

Player B only nominates the players that Toadify will affect due to the Hydra Spell.

In other words, the player who casts the original Spell (Toadify in this case) continues with the rolling of the die.

The Hydra Spell's effect is that it focuses the Toadify Spell onto other characters. If the original Spell had been say Mesmerism, player A would be the player to benefit from the Hydra Spell not player B.(he only chooses the additional targets).

ell

I think that there are not so many spells that i want to hydra if you play with 2 players

But the strength spell or craft spell could work, because player B gains a strength or craft by letting player A cast the spell upon you

But you don't let negative spells be cast on yourself by player A

is it also possible, that if player A cast random on player B and player B cast Hydra so that player A must cast it on himself?

Velhart said:

is it also possible, that if player A cast random on player B and player B cast Hydra so that player A must cast it on himself?

Certainly he/you can. You can Random yourself anyway if you're feeling daring!

If i read the explanation from talismansilat about toadify, then it looks like that the person who cast hydra, can only target himself and other players, but not the original caster himself? preocupado.gif

Velhart said:

If i read the explanation from talismansilat about toadify, then it looks like that the person who cast hydra, can only target himself and other players, but not the original caster himself? preocupado.gif

Yes he can target the original caster if he wishes, but in our example it wasn't necessary as the original caster was turned into a Toad anyway.

So to summarize:

If a character is turned into a Toad by rolling a 1 for Toadify, he continues to roll for the other targets of the Toadify Spell (due to Hydra Spell) irrespective of the fact that he is a Toad, because the Spells had already been cast prior to his transformation!

Ell.

talismanamsilat said:

Actually you are wrong!

Player A casts Toadify on player B when they are about to engage in battle. Player B then immediately casts Hydra Spell and nominates the other characters it will affect (C and D).

Player A rolls a 1 for the original Toadify and becomes a Toad himself (follow normal procedure for becoming a Toad).

Player A then rolls a die for player C (it doesn't matter that he is now a Toad as the Hydra Spell has already been cast - he just rolls to see what happens to the character).

Finally player A rolls a die for player D!

That's the correct way to handle this scenario.

Ell.

Oh tnx a lot for the answer. Another related question to hydra spell is if the same player can cast for example Toadify and hydra spell on it? So he is casting 2 spells so to say??

Persiatic said:

talismanamsilat said:

Actually you are wrong!

Player A casts Toadify on player B when they are about to engage in battle. Player B then immediately casts Hydra Spell and nominates the other characters it will affect (C and D).

Player A rolls a 1 for the original Toadify and becomes a Toad himself (follow normal procedure for becoming a Toad).

Player A then rolls a die for player C (it doesn't matter that he is now a Toad as the Hydra Spell has already been cast - he just rolls to see what happens to the character).

Finally player A rolls a die for player D!

That's the correct way to handle this scenario.

Ell.

Oh tnx a lot for the answer. Another related question to hydra spell is if the same player can cast for example Toadify and hydra spell on it? So he is casting 2 spells so to say??

Yes correct, but you can only cast these two Spells together, when you are about to engage in battle with another character during your own turn .

Ell.

talismanamsilat said:


Oh tnx a lot for the answer. Another related question to hydra spell is if the same player can cast for example Toadify and hydra spell on it? So he is casting 2 spells so to say??

Yes correct, but you can only cast these two Spells together, when you are about to engage in battle with another character during your own turn .

Ell.

Thanks for the clarification about Hydra Spell. There's just a scenario I'm not sure about and it's the following:

If player A casts Toadify and wants to cast Hydra Spell as well, in order to extend the effects of Toadify to all other Characters, what happens if he rolls 1 for the first affected Character (=the original target, with whom he's about to engage in battle)?

If I'm not wrong, the correct timing should be: cast Toadify, solve it, cast Hydra and solve Toadify for all new targets, correct? Or should Hydra be cast before solving the effects of the first Spell (=the Toadify you want to copy)? If player A is turned into a Toad, he can't cast Hydra anymore.

Or does Hydra Spell happen before any other Spell is solved, just like Counterspell and Reflection?

The_Warlock said:

talismanamsilat said:


Oh tnx a lot for the answer. Another related question to hydra spell is if the same player can cast for example Toadify and hydra spell on it? So he is casting 2 spells so to say??

Yes correct, but you can only cast these two Spells together, when you are about to engage in battle with another character during your own turn .

Ell.

Thanks for the clarification about Hydra Spell. There's just a scenario I'm not sure about and it's the following:

If player A casts Toadify and wants to cast Hydra Spell as well, in order to extend the effects of Toadify to all other Characters, what happens if he rolls 1 for the first affected Character (=the original target, with whom he's about to engage in battle)?

If I'm not wrong, the correct timing should be: cast Toadify, solve it, cast Hydra and solve Toadify for all new targets, correct? Or should Hydra be cast before solving the effects of the first Spell (=the Toadify you want to copy)? If player A is turned into a Toad, he can't cast Hydra anymore.

Or does Hydra Spell happen before any other Spell is solved, just like Counterspell and Reflection?

If you read the entire thread this is exactly what have been answered by Talismansilat

But what the Warlock means is different.

This time, player A rolls for toadify and becomes a toad himself, and want to cast hydra on the other players.

But as a toad, you can;t cast spells

( in elliot examples, Hydra was cast by another player when player A was a toad..

I think you cast Hydra Spell as an interrupt like Counterspell or Reflection.

The Hydra can't grow extra heads if it's dead. By comparison a spell can't have Hydra Spell cast on it if it's resolved and in the discard pile.

Velhart said:

But what the Warlock means is different.

This time, player A rolls for toadify and becomes a toad himself, and want to cast hydra on the other players.

But as a toad, you can;t cast spells

( in elliot examples, Hydra was cast by another player when player A was a toad..

Ah yes your are right, well I would also like to know this scenario if Player A is person casting toadify on player B and casts hydra on it to affect player C and D.

Player A casts Toadify on player B and immediately casts Hydra Spell on Toadify so that it affects players C & D (The Hydra Spell is cast before Toadify is resolved - just like Counterspell and Reflection.) Player A then rolls a 1 for Toadify and becomes a Toad. Player A must then roll to see what happens to players C and D, irrespective of the fact that he is a Toad (The Hydra Spell has already been cast prior to player A's transformation into a Toad - player A must still roll the die to resolve the effects of the Hydra Spell on players C & D.)

Ell.

thanks for the information Elliot gui%C3%B1o.gif