Can a player move less than their number rolled for movement when they are stopped by the barrier spell. Or are they forced to move in the other direction because they cannot move passed the barrier spell?
Barrier and Movement
I always play that if the player opts to go towards the barrier, they have to stop their movement the square before the barrier. (Rolled a 5, barrier is on 4, so stop on 3)
The option to go the other way is a free choice at the start of the turn, so hence they are really not forced to go the other way.
MishaMonster said:
I always play that if the player opts to go towards the barrier, they have to stop their movement the square before the barrier. (Rolled a 5, barrier is on 4, so stop on 3)
The option to go the other way is a free choice at the start of the turn, so hence they are really not forced to go the other way.
In your example, this is not the correct way to play it! The player has to move away from the Barrier, as you have to move the full count of the die roll,
Ell
talismanamsilat said:
Ell
I thought that was right!
MishaMonster said:
I always play that if the player opts to go towards the barrier, they have to stop their movement the square before the barrier. (Rolled a 5, barrier is on 4, so stop on 3)
The option to go the other way is a free choice at the start of the turn, so hence they are really not forced to go the other way.
In your example, this is not the correct way to play it! The player has to move away from the Barrier, as you have to move the full count of the die roll,
Ell
OK but how it works in the City?
1) If there is a Barrier in the City space can I move aggains the arrow? Does the Barrier effect overrides special movement City rules?
2) Similar situation but I can go to the shop instead of moving against the arrow. Can I go to the shop and "do nothing" (when I have no gold on my own).
3) If I have a gold (but I do not want to buy in this shop) do I have to perform an action and buy something? Or can I go agains the arrow instead and safe my gold for something else?
OK but how it works in the City?
1) If there is a Barrier in the City space can I move aggains the arrow? Does the Barrier effect overrides special movement City rules?
2) Similar situation but I can go to the shop instead of moving against the arrow. Can I go to the shop and "do nothing" (when I have no gold on my own).
3) If I have a gold (but I do not want to buy in this shop) do I have to perform an action and buy something? Or can I go agains the arrow instead and safe my gold for something else?
Good questions. No easy answers here.
The statements I would consider are the following:
However, each street space on the City board is marked with an arrow which points in the direction characters must move in order to travel around the street spaces. Characters cannot move against an arrow on a street space unless an ability or effect forces them to do so. (City Rulebook, page 5)
the text of Barrier Spell:
Cast at the start of your turn or when you have just completed your move. Place this card on any space in your Region not occupied by another character (not in the Inner Region). No character may move onto or through that space until the start of your next turn.
and the infamous "Can vs. Cannot" Golden Rule:
In any instance where a card’s effect indicates that a character cannot perform an action or use an ability (such as casting a
Spell or using an Object), the character cannot do so . In other words, the forbidding effects of cards override other abilities
and effects.
Mixing together the 3 statements, this is how I might resolve the matter:
1) Barrier says that I cannot move onto or through the Barrier, so it forbids my normal movement action.
2) Can vs. Cannot says that forbidding effects override other abilities and effects, which might (and I say might) imply that they override the normal rules as well
3) According to City movement rules, if I cannot move in a direction I am forced to move in the opposite direction, even though it is normally not allowed.
Other rules, such as rules regarding Shop Spaces, stay in effect as there is no reason why they should be overridden.
The answers to you questions would then be:
1) Yes. Yes
2) No
3) Yes. No.
Mine's just an opinion and it's the solution that breaks the less rules. All in all, Barrier works for 1 turn per character only, such as Misdirection. Barrier could be used on your own character to visit the same shop twice in the same City loop.
A FAQ entry would be fine.
Edited by The_Warlock
Thanks for explanation. Seem logical, it has just play! But let's step forward.
If Spell (
due to a golden rule Can vs Cannot
) overrides special movement rules can I cast
Barrier
or
Black Ice
on City's
Jail
space before I encounter
Night Guard
to prevent against thrown into the Jail? There are no rules saying you can not cast a spell on
Jail
(or
Treasure Chamber
or
Eyrie
).
1) If there is a
Barrier
on
Jail
space, do I have to remain on my current space? Or regardless the Barrier I am thrown into Jail?
2) The same with
Black Ice
on
Jail
space, do I have to go to
Town Square
space? Or regardless the Black Ice I am thrown into Jail?
3) If the is a
Black Ice
on
Treasure Chamber
or
Eyrie
do I have to move one space forward to...
Dungeon or Highland Entrance
? Or can I encounter
Treasure Chamber
or
Eyrie
normally
?
Thanks for explanation. Seem logical, it has just play! But let's step forward.
If Spell ( due to a golden rule Can vs Cannot ) overrides special movement rules can I cast Barrier or Black Ice on City's Jail space before I encounter Night Guard to prevent against thrown into the Jail? There are no rules saying you can not cast a spell on Jail (or Treasure Chamber or Eyrie ).
1) If there is a Barrier on Jail space, do I have to remain on my current space? Or regardless the Barrier I am thrown into Jail?
2) The same with Black Ice on Jail space, do I have to go to Town Square space? Or regardless the Black Ice I am thrown into Jail?
3) If the is a Black Ice on Treasure Chamber or Eyrie do I have to move one space forward to... Dungeon or Highland Entrance ? Or can I encounter Treasure Chamber or Eyrie normally ?
You pose interesting questions indeed. This is something that won't happen in 99.9% of the games, but when it happens I would say that Barrier and Black Ice can be cast on Jail (nothing prevents it, as you say) but they have no effect. A character who's thrown in Jail isn't actually moved or teleported there. He's "thrown", which could be read as a special keyword that rules out all effects related to movement, such as Spells that interact with movement.
On Treasure Chamber and Eyrie, Black Ice should have no effect, because its effect is unapplicable (no chance to move one more space in the same direction of movement). The Dungeon rules say: " When a character reaches the Treasure Chamber, he must end his move there, even if he has more movement available ." and the ill-famed Golden Rules say:
Special Abilities vs. Rules
In any instance where a special ability or effect is at a variance with the basic rules, the special ability or effect always overrides the rules.
Well, here you can't override the rule because it's impossible to override it. There are no other ways beside stopping on the Treasure Chamber. Pretending to move to the Dungeon Entrance is assuming that the Dungeon Entrance is the space following the Treasure Chamber, which is not true. On the other hand, Barrier works well to delay landing on the Treasure Chamber for 1 or more turns.
I would think a barrier would force a player to not move at all. Unless he had the ability to teleport. The barrier does not give any special or alternate movement, it only hinders.
Generally
agree
with the exception of
Jail
space.
Barrier
states that:
"No character may move onto or through that space until the start of your next turn."
No matter how you got there.
I temted to play that if there is a
Barrier
on
Jail
space you have to remain on your current space and if there is a
Black Ice
you must move to
Town Square
.
It could be quite usefull when you are about to encounter a card which can send you to Jail.
As for Jail, I don't know how that would play out.
I was gonna say that if you can't teleport out, you also can't prevent going in, however the rules don't point to this, as I just checked. Spells from outside jail still work.
In a previous game a week or 2 ago, one character died in jail and he had nice stuff. My son wanted it badly and was trying to get to jail on purpose, and later I picked up the jailer follower, it was funny. he never did make it to jail. This was the 1st time I ever saw someone go to Jail though in 4th edition. And it was vicious and I wouldn't wanna go there no matter what was inside!
Edited by DomaGBok so how does barrier spell used with misdirection spell apply, when player casting mis direction states clockwise towards barrier which is only 2 spaces away and player rolls a 5 for movement?
ok so how does barrier spell used with misdirection spell apply, when player casting mis direction states clockwise towards barrier which is only 2 spaces away and player rolls a 5 for movement?
Then the player must move anti-clockwise!
If a terrian card is on a Treasure Chamber or Eyrie and my character encounter it and then someone put the Barrier next to Treasure Chamber or Eyrie space do I lost my next turn (because I can not make a movement phase) or encounter the same space with terrian card?
If a terrian card is on a Treasure Chamber or Eyrie and my character encounter it and then someone put the Barrier next to Treasure Chamber or Eyrie space do I lost my next turn (because I can not make a movement phase) or encounter the same space with terrian card?
You miss your turn as you cannot move.
If a terrian card is on a Treasure Chamber or Eyrie and my character encounter it and then someone put the Barrier next to Treasure Chamber or Eyrie space do I lost my next turn (because I can not make a movement phase) or encounter the same space with terrian card?
You miss your turn as you cannot move.
Probably this is the best way to go. I would only allow rolling movement dice to trigger teleport effects (Leprechaun, Flying Carpet and others) or the Nomad to spend a fate if she wants to encounter the same space where she is.
I agree too. So generally if you can not move the full dice roll one way (except teleport and other efects) - you have to go the other way (even against the arrows in the City). But if you have no way to move full dice roll you miss a turn. Nasty If you have Scribe and a Barrier spell...