Alternative endings

By Drake Leonclaw, in Talisman Rules Questions

A quick (sorta) question about alternative endings. I'm aware that any entry on the cards with a * symbol means that it affects all characters, not just the person who enters the Crown of Command, but when does it affect? Meaning, do those rules only happen when someone lands on the crown of command, as opposed to from when the game begins?

For example, the Crown and Sceptre card has a *'ed entry that says once a character reaches the Crown of Command, characters cannot heal of gain life for the rest of the game. That's easy, cause it says "once a character reaches the Crown of Command." But the Danse Macabre ending has a *'ed entry that says "Whenever a character rolls on the Grim Reaper's chart, he must subtract one from the result (to a minimum of 1)." So does that mean it happens all throughout the game, or only when someone reaches the crown of Command? And if its the former, how does that come into play when using the hidden ending variant?

Likewise, the Warlock Quest ending has nothing but *'ed entries that by description seem pretty clear that they happen from the start of the game, plus it's the only entry thus far that can't be included when drawing a hidden variant ending. Battle Royale has one, too, but states when a character enters the Crown of Command.

Help?

Anything with a * next to it is in effect from the beginning of the game, unless it states otherwise. So with Danse Macabre it's in effect from turn one, making the Reaper a little more scary!

With Crown of Command, as you rightly say, it comes into effect once someone reaches the Crown of Command space.

Obviously if you're playing with the hidden ending variant it waters down such endings as they'd only come into effect once the ending is revealed.