hitting a bad guy..

By larryhoteep, in WFRP Rules Questions

Hello all,

1) I am still new to the rules, but I am not 100% shure on one thing. Let's say I am hitting a orc (p.61 in the tome of adventure.) I add 2 str characteristic dice, one yellow for my wepon skill. I add a challenge die because it is a close combat action. Then I add one misfortune die because he has 1 Defence value.

Do I have the correct number of dice.

2) If I hit him and deal 8 damage. He soaks 2 damage, as it is said in the book. So, my attack does a total of 6. Soak comes from armor, right? Does it have anything to do with toughness characteristic?

Thanks in advance!

1) Remember to convert characteristic die to stance die, depending on how deep in a stance you are. So, if you have two characteristic die, and you are one level into the conservative stance, you replace one of your characteristic die with a conservative die (green die). Otherwise, yeah, you have the right of it.

2) When seeing how much damage is mitigated, you combined the soak value of the armour WITH the toughness value, and remove that value from the total damage value. Remember, even if the toughness + soak completely removes all damage, the target still suffers one wound minimum, since it was a successful hit.

Also remember that monsters have basic actions, so if the Ork has Ag3+ and isn't surprised he can Dodge, if he has a weapon he can Parry etc., and he can spend Aggression points for more black dice into attacker's pool.

Rob