The white square

By larryhoteep, in WFRP Rules Questions

Hello folks,

I have bought the Core Box last week and I like the game a lot. I have found that sometime the rules are a bit confusing. I have a question regarding the white box on the right of the Trait. Str 3 []. I know it has something to do with the Favour and you can increase the number with advancement. But if I have invested it twice, does it mean that I have 2 white dice when I spend a Favour? And how does it work when I am looking at a monster'S chart or an NPC from the Master's book?

Thanks in advance.

White dice is a Fortune Dice. Differente things can add those to a pool.

Fortune on Attributes : St 3 for exemple. Your current Career has let's say 2 Fortune Advances available . You can spend up to 2 Exp to buy the 2 Fortunes, from that Career, to put on your Career Attributes. If you want to put them both on Strength (let's say that St is one of your 2 Career Attributes) : in the square next to "St 3" on the character sheet you write "2". When making a Strength base dice pool, you have 3 blue dice (attribute St=3) and 2 white dice (attribute fortune on St=2). On the back of the character sheet, in the Career Advance list, you check the 1st and 2nd boxes of the lines in the Open Career Advances section, and write on each line something like : Fortune 1 on [attribute name] / Fortune 2 on [attribute name]. Once you bought the available number of [Attribute] Fortunes given by your Career, you can't buy more.

Then there will be other things to add to the dice pool before rolling a check, depending on Skill Training/Specs, opposition/difficulty level, situationnal mods, Character Fortune spending.

Favor is the "mana" name for Priest (Power for Mages)

For monsters (those can be human NPCs), it's about the same : when using a strength base check, you use the line of the monster which says St 4 [w] : you have 4 characteristic dice and 1 Fortune dice as a base.

On the business end:

Remember that you cannot buy Fortune (stat) dice with non career advances, and you cannot assign them to non-career attributes.

to Cwell:

When he said 'spending Favor' I think he meant fortune points (unfortunate naming scheme) as in the Fortune Pool.

Ok, that makes sense. So Str 3 [2] would mean that a character making a brute str roll would have 3 characteristic dice and 2 fortune dice. Using one fortune point would make the roll 3 characteristic dice and 3 fortune dice.

A character rise a characteristic by spending it's advance (4 in our exemple) but it can only be a primary characteristic, which does not count as the career transition. He could spend 1 advance to have one more fortune dice which would count for the career transition.

Is it about right?n thanks

yep, but if he is in his 1st Career he won't have enough available Fortune Advances to reach 3 white on the St attribute

Commoner Career has 3 Fortune advances but Strength is not a Career Attribute for exemple. This exemple would fit if you don't use Strength ;)
(its the only Career i remember with 3 Fortunes advances)

hmm.... seeing as you can only increase your main attributes once per rank, how can a commoner ever use the third fortune point advance?

-L

Lucas Adorn said:

hmm.... seeing as you can only increase your main attributes once per rank, how can a commoner ever use the third fortune point advance?

-L

I'm pretty sure you're not limited to 1 Fortune Point per characteristic per rank.

As far as I know, as a Commoner (who has Th and WP as his attributes, I think) you could put all three Fortune Dice in Thoughness for example.

Yep, he starts with let's say Tou = 3, you spend 3 advances to buy the 3 Fortunes on Tou : Tou = 3 [3] -> 3 blue + 3 white on Resilience or Toughness checks

Those are the base rules. I did however houseruled that so they can only buy one Fortune per attribute per Rank with no restriction on Career Attributes. That limits dice pool growth, so it matches the Skill training's one (avoiding early min-maxing), and don't nerf the one Career with 3 fortunes on attributes