Basilisk Card

By Kumara2, in Talisman Rules Questions

Text on the Highland space The Icebridge says: you are killed! So i get it you die outright its not lose one life. but with Basilisk it also says killed... just for clarity is this the ONLY enemy in the game thus far where you die outright based on your opponent rolling doubles for the Basilisk. Since you can not fate an enemy attack roll does this mean you are instantly killed without a chance at evading after spells have been declared and the attack roll is to being?

can someone confirm that this card specifically does this in the game. whats your take?

kumara said:

Text on the Highland space The Icebridge says: you are killed! So i get it you die outright its not lose one life. but with Basilisk it also says killed... just for clarity is this the ONLY enemy in the game thus far where you die outright based on your opponent rolling doubles for the Basilisk. Since you can not fate an enemy attack roll does this mean you are instantly killed without a chance at evading after spells have been declared and the attack roll is to being?

can someone confirm that this card specifically does this in the game. whats your take?

Evading happens before attack rolls are made, so you can evade. Similarly, if you have Finger of Death or Fireball, you can kill the Basilisk prior to attack rolls.

Dam said:

kumara said:

Text on the Highland space The Icebridge says: you are killed! So i get it you die outright its not lose one life. but with Basilisk it also says killed... just for clarity is this the ONLY enemy in the game thus far where you die outright based on your opponent rolling doubles for the Basilisk. Since you can not fate an enemy attack roll does this mean you are instantly killed without a chance at evading after spells have been declared and the attack roll is to being?

can someone confirm that this card specifically does this in the game. whats your take?

Evading happens before attack rolls are made, so you can evade. Similarly, if you have Finger of Death or Fireball, you can kill the Basilisk prior to attack rolls.

And if You didn't killed it before the fight starts nor evaded it, You have a great chance to die at it. Great card and great illustration.

You just got to love the basilisk, The funny scenario we had the other day was a friend who drew the imba Wizard and was like all happy. He drew the basilisk card on his first movement roll and died. (And yes we always play that if you die you die, HARDCORE!)

Cheers

the basilisk card is nasty. i would rather draw a straight strength 7. we are a mean spirited group and generally enjoy killing each other more than winning the game. the basilsk has become a feared card to face. i have seen 2 lucky charms used to ensure the dice roll would show up doubles. maybe the dirtiest move i have ever seen in this game...

punk666 said:

the basilisk card is nasty. i would rather draw a straight strength 7. we are a mean spirited group and generally enjoy killing each other more than winning the game. the basilsk has become a feared card to face. i have seen 2 lucky charms used to ensure the dice roll would show up doubles. maybe the dirtiest move i have ever seen in this game...

*sigh*

Time for another FAQ entry looks like it, one clarifying you can only use LC for your character's rolls. Not like anybody else has even read the card that way (probably), given that pretty much nothing in the game allows you to influence/reroll dice that aren't your character's rolls.