Dopple copying an insane character?

By Kallisti, in CoC Rules Discussion

OK, let's split up the concerns. Damon's interpretation of an insane character is one thing. Let's ignore that for now.

Doppelganger becomes a printed copy of a character, which to me means whatever it becomes through copying is considered "printed" for any tests. BUT it does not say becomes a printed copy of the printed character . So why would it get the text box, etc. if an insane character doesn't have that?

TheProfessor said:

OK, let's split up the concerns. Damon's interpretation of an insane character is one thing. Let's ignore that for now.

Doppelganger becomes a printed copy of a character, which to me means whatever it becomes through copying is considered "printed" for any tests. BUT it does not say becomes a printed copy of the printed character . So why would it get the text box, etc. if an insane character doesn't have that?

Because a printed copy of a character = a copy of the printed character.

I get this from the FAQ questions for doppleganger:

If Doppelgänger goes
insane, it is treated as though it was the
card it copied gone insane. This means
that it still retains the printed card title
of the copied card
, even though the rest
of the card is still treated the same as a
normal insane character.

*bolded for reference.

Through this example we know that Dopple copies the card's 'printed stuff.'

Which I'll will point out again to emphazie the point to anyone that may have missed it, an insane character still has all of its printed stuff. Its blanked or treated as not being there or set to 0 or w/e but its still there.

My opinion, it should work this way universally as well. Anything that references a 'printed' value/text/etc. should use an insane character's printed value/text not 0/non-exsistant/blank/etc.

Doesn't make sense to me to do it the other way.

Magnus Arcanis said:

Because a printed copy of a character = a copy of the printed character.

I get this from the FAQ questions for doppleganger:

If Doppelgänger goes insane, it is treated as though it was the card it copied gone insane. This means that it still retains the printed card title of the copied card , even though the rest of the card is still treated the same as a normal insane character.

Through this example we know that Dopple copies the card's 'printed stuff.'

I'm missing the last point. In my proposed interpretation, the Doppelganger copies a character and becomes a "printed copy" of that. So the Doppelganger's title would be a "printed card title of the copied card".

I'm not arguing that my interpretation is correct, but rather that it is consistent with the rulings. I feel that without further information we can't know if Doppelganger copies the printed character, or if it copies a character and becomes the equivalent of a printed card with those properties.

TheProfessor said:

Magnus Arcanis said:

Because a printed copy of a character = a copy of the printed character.

I get this from the FAQ questions for doppleganger:

If Doppelgänger goes insane, it is treated as though it was the card it copied gone insane. This means that it still retains the printed card title of the copied card , even though the rest of the card is still treated the same as a normal insane character.

Through this example we know that Dopple copies the card's 'printed stuff.'

I'm missing the last point. In my proposed interpretation, the Doppelganger copies a character and becomes a "printed copy" of that. So the Doppelganger's title would be a "printed card title of the copied card".

I'm not arguing that my interpretation is correct, but rather that it is consistent with the rulings. I feel that without further information we can't know if Doppelganger copies the printed character, or if it copies a character and becomes the equivalent of a printed card with those properties.

When it retains the printed card title I can only assume that it gained the printed card title. Aka, it copies the printed card title. If it copied one printed thing it should copy all printed things just as it would if it wasn't insane.

Rules clarification request sent.

TheProfessor said:

Rules clarification request sent.

I knew this topic was still controversial and had never been satisfactorily clarified! llorando.gif

I hope nobody is getting annoyed with my flood of rule questions, but I'm currently in the process of preparing for the European championship, so I'd really like to make sure about as many official rulings as possible (and hope the judges are keeping up to date with them, too!).

Several of the latest card are also throwing me in a loop, e.g. Canopic Jar but that's for another topic...

I received a succinct " Doppelganger cannot target an insane character " response from Damon.

TheProfessor said:

I received a succinct " Doppelganger cannot target an insane character " response from Damon.