More questions after going through test combats

By sugarwookie, in WFRP Rules Questions

Okay, after running a few fights I have some additional questions.

Does a monster have the option for a basic attack, or are they limited to the actions listed w/their descriptions. I'm assuming so, but want to be sure.

If a monster causes himself stress/fatigue do these transfer into wounds? I know I've read that they don't suffer fatigue and instead suffer wounds, but does this also mean they inflict this to themselves with a bad roll of the dice? Does stress also transfer to wounds as well if this is the case?

If a character uses an action card with a recharge rating and misses with the attack, does the attack still have to recharge?

Lastly, the universal challenge dice for combat is one die. If you use a combat action, or any action that includes any number of challenge dice, so those stack with the universal "one" die, or does it replace that rule. In other words, if I use an action with no challenge die listed, I'm assuming I'll add that universal one, but if I pick a action card and it has two challenge dice on the card does it stack, or just replace?

Thanks so much for the patience with the questions I've been asking today. I'm teaching this new system to folks who have no idea how to play and I want to make it as fun and seamless as possible.

wookie

I can answer every question but your first:

Second: I would say yes.

Third: No, you only add recharge tokens when the attack hits.

Fourth: They add to the universal "one" die, so the action in the example would have 3 challenge dice.

And the answer to your first is yes, monsters/npcs are allowed all the basic actions they would qualify for (ie, no Block if they don't have a shield, no Dodge if they don't have a high enough Agility, etc). There's also some suggestions for giving them additional action cards based on the E of their A/C/E in the Tome of Adventure, page 44. Grabbing the book, I see that it's suggested as a number of actions equal to the Expertise + 1. These are all in addition to the special actions in the bestiary listings.

Awesome! It's great to get these things cleared up in one night, LOL! Thanks so much!

sugarwookie said:

Okay, after running a few fights I have some additional questions.

Does a monster have the option for a basic attack, or are they limited to the actions listed w/their descriptions. I'm assuming so, but want to be sure.

If a monster causes himself stress/fatigue do these transfer into wounds? I know I've read that they don't suffer fatigue and instead suffer wounds, but does this also mean they inflict this to themselves with a bad roll of the dice? Does stress also transfer to wounds as well if this is the case?

If a character uses an action card with a recharge rating and misses with the attack, does the attack still have to recharge?

Lastly, the universal challenge dice for combat is one die. If you use a combat action, or any action that includes any number of challenge dice, so those stack with the universal "one" die, or does it replace that rule. In other words, if I use an action with no challenge die listed, I'm assuming I'll add that universal one, but if I pick a action card and it has two challenge dice on the card does it stack, or just replace?

Thanks so much for the patience with the questions I've been asking today. I'm teaching this new system to folks who have no idea how to play and I want to make it as fun and seamless as possible.

I see people got Question 1 covered.

2. Yes both stress and fatigue convert to wounds, UNLESS a monster is a boss monster (specifically a nemesis) for ease of tracking. Keeping separate totals for 15 beasties is a nightmare. Consequently we've played that if a monster isn't dead, regaining wounds means they gain a second wind, or shrug off pain (gain a wound back). That's not stated anywhere, but can follow from the first - especially when using many of those non-standard picked cards. Its a teency bit rougher on the party, but we're not so squishy, and most of us enjoy a challenge.

3. No. You ONLY put recharge tokens on a successful hit/cast. Also as per FAQ errata, quick weapons with attacks place 1 less recharge token (I know you didn't ask, but its a reminder).

4. Stacks. Some of the trickier shots are harder to pull off, and often become easier at higher levels (more yellow and white dice for specs/training).

Keep on asking, we'll keep answering. Many of us may not have a specific answer handled, so its good to see (we learn something new). Also, the happier you and your group are, the more WFRP love you'll spread to others ^_~