Jeff's Gloves

By Wafflecopter2, in UFS Rules Q & A

Jeff's Gloves reads: "R Commit 1 foundation: After you play a block , reveal the top card of your deck. If the revealed card has a block, add it to your hand. If not, discard the revealed card."

Can I trigger this after playing a card with a block modifier as a form, or only during the Block Step of my opponent's attack? I can't remember how the old debate was settled, or if was just a "in this case it's this, in that case it's that, play it as ruled."

Also, can the Gloves trigger after I play an ability that generates a block?

Wafflecopter said:

Jeff's Gloves reads: "R Commit 1 foundation: After you play a block , reveal the top card of your deck. If the revealed card has a block, add it to your hand. If not, discard the revealed card."

Can I trigger this after playing a card with a block modifier as a form, or only during the Block Step of my opponent's attack? I can't remember how the old debate was settled, or if was just a "in this case it's this, in that case it's that, play it as ruled."

Also, can the Gloves trigger after I play an ability that generates a block?

I would think that if you play a card with a block on it for the cost of commiting a foundation, you can reveal the top of your deck, much like the first promo tira, you got to ready her if you play a card with a block zone (then change that zone) I think that any time you play a card that has a block, you can commit a foundation, reveal, if theres a block on the card draw it. I don't think you can trigger off of abilities that block for you.

kiit said:

Wafflecopter said:

Jeff's Gloves reads: "R Commit 1 foundation: After you play a block , reveal the top card of your deck. If the revealed card has a block, add it to your hand. If not, discard the revealed card."

Can I trigger this after playing a card with a block modifier as a form, or only during the Block Step of my opponent's attack? I can't remember how the old debate was settled, or if was just a "in this case it's this, in that case it's that, play it as ruled."

Also, can the Gloves trigger after I play an ability that generates a block?

I would think that if you play a card with a block on it for the cost of commiting a foundation, you can reveal the top of your deck, much like the first promo tira, you got to ready her if you play a card with a block zone (then change that zone) I think that any time you play a card that has a block, you can commit a foundation, reveal, if theres a block on the card draw it. I don't think you can trigger off of abilities that block for you.

incorrect. playing a card with a block modifier on it is not playing a block. a block is not a card type. as such, the only time you can play a block is during the block step (or apply a block from an effect). Promo Tira only worked that way for a short while until the first set of rules were cleaned up dramatically. so... basically since the end of summer 2006.

to be clear: you must be playing a card (or effect) AS A BLOCK in order to trigger this. you may R with JG once the ability that generates the block provides the block in the block step.