Okay - so my friend used this card for the first time in our game last evening. We rapidly encountered several rules questions that we thought we'd consult with you all on.
The card just came out in the latest "Wailer Below" pack, so here is the text for it:
Dopplegänger
X-Cost // Yog-Sothoth Character
No Icons // 0-Skill (by default)
When you play Doppelgänger from your hand, choose a non-unique character in play. X is equal to the printed cost of that character. Doppelgänger becomes an exact copy of that character while that character is in play. If that character leaves play, return Doppelgänger to your hand.
-----------------------
1.) Our first issue happened in my opponent's first turn. He wanted to play a Servant Out of Time (0-Cost character) - first, as he had won the roll for first turn. He played him...and discarded a resource, as usual. He then showed me Dopple and explained he wanted to play it, targeting the Servant Out of Time, and copying him.
His first question then, was, "when I copy the Servant Out of Time....as I put the Dopple // Servant into play....do I have to "again" sacrifice a resource, due to becoming "an exact copy" of that character ?
We thought not - since it would seem too punitive, and - rules-wise - we thought the Dopple "touches the table-top" (so to speak) - THEN (moments later) becomes the character you targeted....in other words - you should not be subject to "enters play" penalties for things that normally would trigger if an actual card (Servant Out of Time or whatever) had been played.
Thoughts ?
2.) If a Deep One Rising (or any "when this card is played /// OR - "when this card enters play /// etc.) - is in play already....and a Yog player puts down Doppleganger, paying the 4-cost to copy the Deep One Rising - do they get to "choose and destroy a non-Ancient One character" - just like the Deep One Rising does when he "comes into play" ?
3.) Lastly we had an odd situation later in that game. He had copied a Seeker of Mysteries I had (for a situational need for Arcane, and to reduce the cost of some of his bigger cards). He then committed to a story with the Seeker Copy // Doppleganger - along with a Gug (I think). I blocked with a Terror Causing creature, but did not have enough combat to "out combat" him.
The sequence went- I won Terror. He chose the Seeker // Dopple to go Insane (flip her over and remove from story). Then he won the Combat struggle thanks to the Gug....I chose MY original Seeker of Mysteries to take the wound.
According to Doppleganger's text...you must return it to your hand if the character it "copied" left play. BUT...while the Dopple is insane, he has no actual printed text, correct ?
So what happens the next round when the Dopple refreshes ?
At that point, the original character he had copied is not even in play (the original Seeker I had) ...so what happens ? Does he remain a Seeker of Mysteries, or is he forced to go back into my opponents hand...even though the Seeker left play last round (when the Dopple was Insane).
Would anything change if I had a second Seeker of Mysteries in play - still - when he restores his Dopple ? (not the original one that was copied)
I realize this is a confusing new card - with probably a bunch of ways you can play it - but I hope some of you can offer some ideas or suggestions as to the "correct" way to handle the Doppleganger in these instances !