If a Flamestorm (Reckless) does 11 damage with 1 critical, is this full damage (11 with 1 critical) inflicet at every successive round?
If a Flamestorm (Reckless) does 11 damage with 1 critical, is this full damage (11 with 1 critical) inflicet at every successive round?
Yes. The "Effect" description is clear. "Each time you remove a recharge token, each character within is struck for damage as described below"
Below beeing the succes lines.
Do not repeat the boon/banes/comet lines, you "purchase" the bonus and apply it if successfull (but the 3 Boon clearly states that the +1 Crit is for each strikes)
This spell is monstrous, especially with a Sigmar's Comet -> 2 Tokens off, then end of turn for a 3rd recharge token. Your (11 with/1 Crit)x3 HURTS
As a GM, that is why i don't allow the purchase of Rank 2+ Spells/Blessings if you don't meet the Rank of the card. Some are really mean
PS : i assumed you hit 2 success line with 3 Boons and Int of 5
Cwell2101 said:
Yes. The "Effect" description is clear. "Each time you remove a recharge token, each character within is struck for damage as described below"
Below beeing the succes lines.
Do not repeat the boon/banes/comet lines, you "purchase" the bonus and apply it if successfull (but the 3 Boon clearly states that the +1 Crit is for each strikes)
This spell is monstrous, especially with a Sigmar's Comet -> 2 Tokens off, then end of turn for a 3rd recharge token. Your (11 with/1 Crit)x3 HURTS
As a GM, that is why i don't allow the purchase of Rank 2+ Spells/Blessings if you don't meet the Rank of the card. Some are really mean
PS : i assumed you hit 2 success line with 3 Boons and Int of 5
So you need to note somwere how much damage and critical damage yout storm does, since it will be repeated round by round?
yes, each time a recharge token is removed (remember that lots of effect can add/take recharge tokens), you re-apply the initial damage (you don't have to re-roll). Not that much of a problem, imo
So at the end of the casting action this spell will do the damage twice: once for the damage listed, and once (at the end of the wizard's action) when a counter is removed.
If in Reckless and with a Comet it will do the damage four times. Is this correct?
LukeZZ said:
So at the end of the casting action this spell will do the damage twice: once for the damage listed, and once (at the end of the wizard's action) when a counter is removed.
If in Reckless and with a Comet it will do the damage four times. Is this correct?
No, only when a recharge token is removed that it makes a strike (and deals damage). Your action is summoning the Firestorm. After resolving that action, no damage is dealt right away, except if you have the Comet that allows you to immediatly take off (up to) 2 tokens and make (up to) 2 strikes. Then, the end of turn phase takes one Token off for another strike.
The trigger for a strike (dealing damage) is a recharge token being taken off of the card.
You cast -> 0 damage unless you have a Comet. End of turn -> damage from one token off.
Max damage on the casting round would be a Comet that deals 2 separate strikes (each strike is Soaked individualy), then the end of turn phase dealing a 3rd strike. Your original exemple would give 11 (including 1 Crit) x 3. A group of Gors (non-henchmen soaking 7) would take 4+4+4 including 3 crits and dead (i remember them having only 12 Wounds total). It is a very powerfull spell
If you have someone or something that can add/remove a token on a recharging action, you could have a 4th strike triggered by someone in your group too.
Ah ok, "each strike" does the damage listed, not the initial casting.
Thank you!
Personally, I house rule that higher rank spells/blessings add a challenge die to the difficulty per rank difference to cast. So, they aren't outright prevented from getting them early, but it makes it much more difficult to successfully use them.
dvang said:
Personally, I house rule that higher rank spells/blessings add a challenge die to the difficulty per rank difference to cast. So, they aren't outright prevented from getting them early, but it makes it much more difficult to successfully use them.
I ruled they can't buy them if not of the appropriate Rank to avoid those kind of very powerfull toys early on, even with low success rate, they can have too much of an impact. But i don't have a Mage in the group. Just a Priest.
I would consider your approach, feels better than forbiding purchase, but i think i'd also need to make the Chaos Star worse than it is (like CS + 1 challenge + 1 Bane, or CS + re-roll the die)
Initially it was just pay +1/rank difference to buy the new spells.
Winds of magic added the +1 purple per rank difference rule. Its actually in the books (albeit you can house rule diff of course).
Also in winds of magic if I am not mistaken , casting higher level spells gives you a chance for corruption (if you gather enough zealots and witch hunters chase you, fun)
Cruces said:
Also in winds of magic if I am not mistaken , casting higher level spells gives you a chance for corruption (if you gather enough zealots and witch hunters chase you, fun)
I think you are mistaken: by my reading of the rules from The Winds of Magic , you get extra challenge dice and risk corruption if you try to cast spells from a school other than your own, but casting spells of higher rank from your own school just gives you extra challenge dice and adds extra Chaos Star results if you fail.