EchPiEl said:
I don't think that's the case, Grim, the cost still exists, you simply don't have to pay it.
Since cost reductors work with X cost cards (you get the full X effect even when paying X-reductors) then a reductor that makes you noy pay the cost at all should work as well (and I remember a CCG card that did exactly this, reducing the next event cost to 0, that had the same problem with X cost cards, that you could set the X to whatever you want then proceed to pay zero). I think there's a flaw in your argument, the cost is not set when you drain the domain to pay for it, the cost exists and then you have to pay it BY draining a domain... or in this case, by using an effect that says that you don't have to pay it.
I remain convinced with the precedent set in the FAQ and logic dictating the true premises that I had shown equaling the conclusion that X = 0. If Marius is correct in his suggested use of this card, then it will require further printed errata. You are given two predetermined conditions to modify X beyond anything other than 0.
(v1.0) X (The Letter X)
Unless specified by a preceding card,
card effect, or granted player choice, the
letter X is always equal to zero.
Does a preceding card specify what X is?
Is there a way for X to be arbitrarily granted by the player?
If neither of the above modifiers apply, then X = 0.
) for cost 2 using Yog and unspeakable resurrection, is this a mistake from someone who has made a human error, or are we just fighting the inevitable FaQ answer that 'yes, that's exactly how we meant it to be played'?
)
So much for finally making
Opener of the Gate
functional. Its combo with
Chant of Thoth
still the 'best' (read: functional but still not very good at all).