Spell Sequence - FOD / Spell Call / FOD again

By MishaMonster, in Talisman Rules Questions

Sequence is like this..

Warlock starts turn with 3 spells..

rolls 3, lands on Character with Theif

Warlock casts Finger of Death on Theif (2 lives lost) then uses Spell Call (whatever it is called to retrieve last spell) and then casts FOD on theif again - Killing Character. Then proceeds to take all Theifs loot (warlock has horse and cart)

Sound reasonable to you folks?

MishaMonster said:

Sequence is like this..

Warlock starts turn with 3 spells..

rolls 3, lands on Character with Theif

Warlock casts Finger of Death on Theif (2 lives lost) then uses Spell Call (whatever it is called to retrieve last spell) and then casts FOD on theif again - Killing Character. Then proceeds to take all Theifs loot (warlock has horse and cart)

Sound reasonable to you folks?

Looks perfectly legit to me. Hell, that's what you get for being a Thief, people are out for your blood demonio.gif .

I agree, can't think of any rule that woul imply anything else. And always make the game as bloody as possible, there's no shame in being greedy with this game!

For me that situation also is possible and I don't see anything bad in it.

It is absolutely legitimate.

Sounds fine, if a little brutal!

I do not think he is allowed to do that. You may only cast spells you had at the start of your turn ( or one spell during another players turn). If the warlock cast FOD and then call it back, he just keep the FOD spell instead of discard it, but now he didn´t had the spell at the start of his turn anymore as he had already cast the spell once. I think it is similar to the sprites ability to always have at least two spells. If the sprite cast a spell, and draws a new one, because of her ability, she´s not allowed to cast the new spell that same turn, only the two spells she had at the beginning of her turn. Thats the way i see it.

Kind regards.

Page 13 of the rules states - "The maximum number of Spells a character may cast during his turn is equal to the number of Spells he had at the start of that turn."

It is therefore the number of spells he had, not just the actual spells that he had. The OPs original scenario is possible and a legitimate play.

talismanisland said:

Page 13 of the rules states - "The maximum number of Spells a character may cast during his turn is equal to the number of Spells he had at the start of that turn."

It is therefore the number of spells he had, not just the actual spells that he had. The OPs original scenario is possible and a legitimate play.

Ah! I see. So i play as the sprite and begin my turn with two spells ( healing and FOD). I then cast the FOD spell because i´m about to engage in battle.Then draw a new spell immediately and gets summon serpent. I may then cast SS right away, but now i´m not allowed to cast the healing spell, cos´ i have already cast two spells during my turn.?

Exactly, but remember that you can also cast a spell in each other player's turn.

I have totally misread that part happy.gif

tnx..