Jade Acolyte

By Deagal, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

I've got a question about this new Empire unit. The card text says:

Mage.
Action: Spend 1 resource and choose a target development you control. That development becomes a unit with 2 hit points and one power until the end of the turn. It also counts as development (limit once per turn).

What if I let this development/unit fight and it dies? Does the unit die and the development stay? Or does the card go to my discard pile and I've lost my beloved development too?

Greeting,

Deagal

Seems like the same deal as one of the earlier Chaos Tactics, Bolt of Change. While the development is a unit, it can be affected like a unit, so if it dies, it dies and is discarded.

So you are sure about that?

Not 100%, but 99% gui%C3%B1o.gif . As per the wording, the development is treated as both a unit and development for the rest of the turn. It can be affected by things that can affect either of those two types. If killed as a unit, discarded, if destroyed as a development, discarded.

Ok, I think that answer satisfies me. ;) I somehow thought that the card is then a unit and a development, but it's essentially a development and thus probably not discarded if the unit is destroyed.

At least you can let your enemy assign two damage to that card and then take it back to your hand with long winter. ;)

Dam said:

Not 100%, but 99% gui%C3%B1o.gif . As per the wording, the development is treated as both a unit and development for the rest of the turn. It can be affected by things that can affect either of those two types. If killed as a unit, discarded, if destroyed as a development, discarded.

Yeah, I'd give it at least 99.5%.

Another question about Jade Acolyte:

I choose a development in a zone where there is a Warpstone Excavation. What happenes? Is the pseudo-unit corrupted? Or is "becoming" a unit something different than "entering" a zone?

Becoming a unit is different than "entering play", so your unit/dev is not corrupted that way with Warpstone Excavation.