We had a situation come up in our game last night where I had a Terrors in the Dark in play - a support card which turns it to Night, and has the additional effect of:
Response : After an opponent plays a card from his hand, he must discard the top card of his deck.
So, the way we were playing it, when my opponent would tap a domain for 3 and play a Unfathomable Elder Thing - that would require him to discard the top card of his deck. Simple so far... but my opponent wondered if this would trigger on something like putting a Dreamlands Fanatic into play - directly from hand - as a result of the "after an opponent's character leaves play" - special Response.
He argued (mildly) that "plays" = puts into play by paying the normal costs for the card - based on our incomplete remembering of the FAQ ...since he had left the pages at home, by mistake. So he thought (perhaps) that Terrors would not trigger if a card came into play due to such a special fashion.
Beyond that mild uncertainty...our bigger question came a few turns later when he tried to Deep One Assault it. We felt (by mutual) agreement - that the Deep One Assault's destruction effect would resolve * first * as soon as it came out of the opponent's hand....and so the Terrors in the Dark would be put into the discard pile - before - it's "discard the top card of your deck" effect would activate.
The only other way to play it would be: - He plays Deep One Assault, placing DOA in his discard pile, as it is used, then because he played a card, he discards the top card of his deck....then I pick up Terrors and put it into my discard pile...and that's it.
This way seemed awkward / strange to us - so we played it the first way I mentioned - DOA came out...targeted Terrors...both cards placed in their discards, nothing further...
Final question on this...timing related.... let's say I had a character like Aspiring Artist (
) in my hand...while Terrors in the Dark was in play for my opponent. I pay 1-resource and put the Aspiring Artist down on the table top.
What happens now ? Do I follow the Artist's command to Draw 2-Cards.....first....or do I follow the Terrors command to discard the top card of my deck.....first ? One has to happen first...right ? In the end, 2-cards will be in my hand, and 1-will have been flipped over from top of deck to discard....but how to determine?