Guile7 and making blocking FUNdamental

By MegaGeese, in UFS Rules Q & A

WRD046.jpg

E Commit: Before you attempt to block an attack, you may use any card with a block in your staging area as though it were in your hand.

So my question is: isn't the timing for this one off? Should his ability be an R? From the way it sounds, it has a similar (though not EXACTLY the same) trigger window as Holding Ground, which is also an R. It doesn't state "this" attack, which implies the ability is a floater, possibly letting you use it for the rest of the turn. Or does it work that way (which would be awesome)?

WRD046.jpg

I thought all enhances on attacks only last until the end of the attack they were used on unless otherwise stated in the text.

It should probably say "before attempting to block this attack" or "your opponent's attack". it sets up a continuous/floating effect for the current attack.

Yeah, I kinda figured as much. Thought it was worth asking just in case. Too bad =(

kilik850 said:

I thought all enhances on attacks only last until the end of the attack they were used on unless otherwise stated in the text.

notice that he sets up a situation: before you attempt to block an attack

during the resolution of the attack you enhanced upon, you will reach the point where it is before you block, and this ability will trigger. whether you use it or not, it's been satisfied, and that's the end of it. it won't carry on to any other attack.