Order in Chaos

By Sir Blackadder, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

In which order do I have to put the cards from the discard pile on top of my deck, when I play Order in Chaos ?

a) I can choose the order.

b) The top card of the discard pile is put on the deck first, then the second from top of the discard pile on top of the first.

c) The second from top of the discard goes on the deck first, then the top card of the discard goes on the deck.

Thanks in advance!

I misread the question and answered, but now that I've read it correctly I don't know the answer. I always assumed that you choose the order.

Is there actually an official rules advisor for Warhammer Invasion on these boards? I cannot see anyone who seems to be able to answer or "stamp" the questions, so I know the answer is 100% correct. On the german boards this is the case, since the german officials can only rule on questions concerning the wording on the german cards, in case there are differences between the german and english version. So I was looking forward to a reliable answer. sad.gif

Sir Blackadder said:

Is there actually an official rules advisor for Warhammer Invasion on these boards? I cannot see anyone who seems to be able to answer or "stamp" the questions, so I know the answer is 100% correct. On the german boards this is the case, since the german officials can only rule on questions concerning the wording on the german cards, in case there are differences between the german and english version. So I was looking forward to a reliable answer. sad.gif

No. FFG employees pretty much never post on these boards. They may read them, or not, its hard to say. If you have a specific rules question you can use the "Rules Question" link at the bottom of the page to submit a question and get an answer from James, the lead designer. Otherwise, there are a few people on the boards who are pretty knowledgeable about the the rules, and if you can get a consensus from them about a question, that's usually a pretty good indication.

For past "official" rulings that aren't explicitly in the FAQ, check out the post in my signature, it tries to gather them to make it easier to find answers. Along those same lines, if you do get a an answer from James, please post it so we can add it to the Rules Summary.

An official FFG employee dedicated to answering W:I questions is also probably unlikely. They are a pretty small company, and I don't think W:I generates the revenue to allow for that sort of dedicated position.

Well, I know from other companies that they use (or used) players to act as rules advisors on the boards. These people have been given an official permission to make official rulings (aka STAMPs) on the boards. This way FFG could have all rules questions answered thus creating a better feedback from their customers and on top they save the expenses of a full time employee. All it takes is someone who wants to spare some free time and knows the rules.

Sir Blackadder said:

Well, I know from other companies that they use (or used) players to act as rules advisors on the boards. These people have been given an official permission to make official rulings (aka STAMPs) on the boards. This way FFG could have all rules questions answered thus creating a better feedback from their customers and on top they save the expenses of a full time employee. All it takes is someone who wants to spare some free time and knows the rules.

I see what you're saying, (and I don't really disagree) but almost all rules questions already get answered. And the ones that don't usually have to be sent to James anyway. Without better written rules, the official rules advisor will still have to send those same questions to James.

I don't play competitively, but I would imagine the rules for W:I could be a real pain for tournament organizers if you have a player that really likes rules lawyering. You'll often see posts from Overseer Lazarus that strongly echo this sentiment, since he makes the case that even "official" rules answers from James are not truly official until they are in the FAQ, as not all players can be expected to keep up with (or believe) whats typed in the forums. I get plenty frustrated with what seem like inconsistencies in the rules, but I think the game will become more polished as it gets older and gets a larger playerbase. The rules are already WAYY more clear than they were before the first FAQ.

With regard to your original question, the rules on simultaneous effects are: When two card effects occur during the same time. The player whose turn it is currently applies his in any order of his choice. Then, the opponent applies his card effects in any order of his choice.

Moving the card from your discard to your library is an effect, so arguably two copies of that effect occur simultaneously, and you choose the order.

I do fully understand, but it would be great, if people who don't frequently visit the boards would get an official answer to their questions. Very often the answers here contradict each other and discussions come up, where it is difficult to see what the correct answer is.

And for Order in Chaos I always understood that two simultaneous card effects mean two effects from two cards. I always understood that Order in Chaos is one effect targeting two cards and not two card effects. So again we have a loophole in the rules.

I don't see OiC and putting the cards back in any order as any different from Troll Vomit clearing the board of units and you getting to pick which order you put them into the discard pile in (in case of, you know, OiC partido_risa.gif ).

The difference is that Troll Vomit puts cards in the discard piles and Order in Chaos puts them on your deck. The discard is explicitedly mentioned in the rules, but the deck isn't. I totally agree with you that it would make sense to choose the order, but since I am a TO I have to be sure of it, in case I have a rules lawyer type of player in my tournaments.