Paying for card abilites

By jhaelen, in CoC Rules Discussion

Rereading the Core Rules, I just noticed (yet another) little rule I seem to have overlooked, so far:

Triggering a card ability from a card already in play requires no resource match, unless otherwise specified by the ability.

Note the bolded part.

I guess this means that using the Action of The Thing Behind You (Summons of the Deep F110) requires a resource match, since it's triggered when card isn't in play:

Action : Pay 2 and return a <Hastur> character to your hand to put The Thing Behind You into play from your hand.

I always thought paying for abilities never required a resource match sad.gif

So, I played this wrong so far, right?

waaaaaat ? - I didn't think that was the case at all....if a card says "pay-2" - unless it says you must pay 2 of some sort of Resources (specifically) - I didn't think you needed any particular resources ?

An example would be Cthulhu, Lord of R'lyeh ....the new card....he has "3: Choose an opponent - that opponent must choose and sacrifice a character"

There is nothing saying that the "3" in this case have to all be Cthulhu resources. It can be 3 of whatever you have on your domains as resources.


Methinks you are mistaken, though - given my own limited (overall) experience with the game, I'll defer to the Brains of the Forum Operation - Professor, Hellfury, Dam, Prodigee, et al - ! cool.gif

--------------------

Edit: I see what you mean regarding Thing...but there is no way it is to be played any other way, or ..what...you think you have to pay 5 ? for it... or you are saying you think the 2-Paid to make him go into play from your hand, must be 2-Hastur resources ? That seems pretty odd, as I think the rules for him would say " pay 2 (Hastur Symbols) - and return 1- (Hastur symbol) character to your hand to put Thing Behind You into play from your hand..." - if they wanted it to be that way.

jhaelen said:

Rereading the Core Rules, I just noticed (yet another) little rule I seem to have overlooked, so far:

Triggering a card ability from a card already in play requires no resource match, unless otherwise specified by the ability.

Note the bolded part.

I guess this means that using the Action of The Thing Behind You (Summons of the Deep F110) requires a resource match, since it's triggered when card isn't in play:

Action : Pay 2 and return a <Hastur> character to your hand to put The Thing Behind You into play from your hand.

I always thought paying for abilities never required a resource match sad.gif

So, I played this wrong so far, right?

Thats a good point you raise. Actually, I think this is a FAQ candidate since I dont think there is a way to really answer this without the actual designer chipping in.

My own opinion thinks a resource match must be made for at least one of those two that must be paid. Hard to say for sure though. I always presumed it was such but then again I usually play mono-faction decks so the question never really arose until you mentioned it.

The Thing Behind You as a "put into play" action, a game mechanic that bypasses all costs ( including resource matches ) and play restrictions, with the exception of uniqueness.

you pay 2 to put into play the Thing, you have not to respect the resource matches rule.


Faq p.10
"Put into Play" is a game mechanic that
bypasses all costs (including resource
matches) and play restrictions, with the
exception of uniqueness.

For example: The Terror of the Tides
(Summons of the Deep F67) reads
"Action: Pay 3 to put The Terror of Tides
into play from your hand. Then, give
The Terror of the Tides 4 wounds." By
paying 3 resources, the controlling player
is able to bring The Terror of the Tides
into play any time he is able to play an
Action. Note that by using this ability to
bring The Terror of the Tides into play, the
controlling player bypasses the need for a
Cthulhu resource match.


The Thing Behind You, Turn around!
[Hastur] The Path to Y'ha-nthlei F110 / Illustrateur : Cris Griffin
[Character] - Sorcerer.
Coût : 5 / Skill : 1 / Icones : TTTTT
Descriptif : Fast. Action: Pay 2 and return a [Hastur] character to your hand to put The Thing Behind You into play from your hand.
Citation : Of course, he had been tricked again...

I guess it was already covered by the FAQ. awesome.

No resource matches means 'stupid broken' and may as well be a neutral card at that point.

Wow....great point Hellfury. Since Terror of the Tides sucks for 6-cost (well...not sucks, but is fairly underwhelming if you actually spent the time piling up 6-resources on a single domain, just to bring him out) .....I almost always play him as the 3-cost version with Terror-Combat-Combat- 2-Wounds - 4-Skill...which is an absolute STEAL ...not to mention the "SURPRISE" factor of tossing him out in "reaction" to opponents declaring who they are sending to what story....being able to surprise them with him, and have him drive insane or kill a valuable enemy who thought they were safe is extremely handy.

But if the FAQ is saying what it's saying....then, as Hellfury points out....this is a huge semi-revelation.

It means I should basically put 3-Terror's of the Tides in EVERY deck I have...no matter what faction I'm using !!! Not needing any Cthulhu resources means I can surprise foes with him, even when playing a milksop rabble like Miskatonic ! Surprise ! Terror...in Miska !? Oh....yeah....FAQ-IT BABY ! demonio.gif

Dadajef said:

Faq p.10
"Put into Play" is a game mechanic that
bypasses all costs (including resource
matches) and play restrictions, with the
exception of uniqueness.

I'm relieved I didn't play it wrong all the time happy.gif

Thanks!

I dunno if anyone noticed, with Jhaelen's reply - but I'll restate from my above-listed-post - since I think it's incredibly noteworthy, if we are interpreting the FAQ entry correctly:

Wow....great point Hellfury. Since Terror of the Tides sucks for 6-cost (well...not sucks, but is fairly underwhelming if you actually spent the time piling up 6-resources on a single domain, just to bring him out) .....I almost always play him as the 3-cost version with Terror-Combat-Combat- 2-Wounds - 4-Skill...which is an absolute STEAL ...not to mention the "SURPRISE" factor of tossing him out in "reaction" to opponents declaring who they are sending to what story....being able to surprise them with him, and have him drive insane or kill a valuable enemy who thought they were safe is extremely handy.

But if the FAQ is saying what it's saying....then, as Hellfury points out....this is a huge semi-revelation.

It means I should basically put 3-Terror's of the Tides in EVERY deck I have...no matter what faction I'm using !!! Not needing any Cthulhu resources means I can surprise foes with him, even when playing a milksop rabble like Miskatonic ! Surprise ! Terror...in Miska !? Oh....yeah....FAQ-IT BABY ! demonio.gif