Can I response to a forced action

By Miniaturekingdom, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

Hi Guys

I am a beginner of Warhammer Invasion. I played a few games with my friends and we have some rule questions. Can I take a response action to a forced action? Thanks in advance.

Miniaturekingdom said:

Hi Guys

I am a beginner of Warhammer Invasion. I played a few games with my friends and we have some rule questions. Can I take a response action to a forced action? Thanks in advance.

No, Forceds don't start a LIFO stack.

If I have 2 Church of Sigmar and my opponent has a vile sorceress. when his turn begin, he has only 1 resource, and what will happen?

He can't target any of your units with VS, so has to hit one of his own.

When do forced actions not start a LIFO stack? I always assumed they were actions and hence could be responded to like any other action.

Sining said:

When do forced actions not start a LIFO stack?

Umm, since never?

Sining said:

I always assumed they were actions and hence could be responded to like any other action.

You have no control over when you to use a Forced, if its trigger comes up, it triggers. You do have a choice in what to target with it, but no whether to do it or not. Only actions can be responded to, not constants or Forceds.

"There are four different types of card effects in the
Warhammer: Invasion LCG. These are: actions,
forced effects, constant effects, and keywords." (p. 15)

and

"Actions can also be played or triggered in response to
other actions." (p. 15)

I have a couple of followup questions on this.

1) I know you can't repond to a Forced action, however, say I play Festering Nurglings into my Kingdom (in order to corrupt my opponents unit in his Kingdom), can he then respond to the deployments of Festering Nurglings with say a Iron Discipline on his unit, and then my Forced resolves and I have to either pay 4 res, or corrupt my own unit? Or is the Forced on FN somehow linked to the playing of it, thus my opponent doesn't get a chance to repond to the Forced of FN because it triggers on being played?

2) This regards Iron Dicipline specifically and really doesn't have much to do with Forced actions. My Empire opponent plays a cheap unit first in his deployment phase, I repond with Assuran Something, Something (the one that cancels and discard a just played unit or support card, unless he depletes his ressource pool). Can the Empire player repond to the Assuran with Iron Dicipline? Our concern was that the unit isn't really in play yet, as the Assuran targets it while it's being played. But I don't know if you can make such a distinction.

edderkoppen said:

I have a couple of followup questions on this.

1) I know you can't repond to a Forced action, however, say I play Festering Nurglings into my Kingdom (in order to corrupt my opponents unit in his Kingdom), can he then respond to the deployments of Festering Nurglings with say a Iron Discipline on his unit, and then my Forced resolves and I have to either pay 4 res, or corrupt my own unit? Or is the Forced on FN somehow linked to the playing of it, thus my opponent doesn't get a chance to repond to the Forced of FN because it triggers on being played?

2) This regards Iron Dicipline specifically and really doesn't have much to do with Forced actions. My Empire opponent plays a cheap unit first in his deployment phase, I repond with Assuran Something, Something (the one that cancels and discard a just played unit or support card, unless he depletes his ressource pool). Can the Empire player repond to the Assuran with Iron Dicipline? Our concern was that the unit isn't really in play yet, as the Assuran targets it while it's being played. But I don't know if you can make such a distinction.

#1: Playing a Unit, support or development is an action, which can be responded to. However, you can't respond to an action with one of those, those three can only start a LIFO chain. So you pay 2 and say you're playing FN, your opponent can respond with ID. When FN comes into play, if you want to corrupt the unit protected by ID, you have to pay 4, if there are no other units in either corresponding zone, you have to corrupt the FN.

#2: Being played does suggest the thing you respond to with Asuryan's Cleansing isn't yet in play, so no ID. AC allows you to target a card being played, since it is worded specifically to allow that, ID can only target something already in play.

Your quote seems to indicate that forced actions can be responded to since they are actions. You can't use them in response to something, but you can play some thing in response to it. For example, vile sorceress ability to -1 hp is a forced action but there's nothing that says you can't respond to the forced action by playing we need your blood on whoever the vile sorc is targeting. Hence you would -1 hp the sorc first, give +1 hp to your own unit and then the vile sorcs ability would resolve on the stack.

Sining said:

Your quote seems to indicate that forced actions can be responded to since they are actions. You can't use them in response to something, but you can play some thing in response to it. For example, vile sorceress ability to -1 hp is a forced action but there's nothing that says you can't respond to the forced action by playing we need your blood on whoever the vile sorc is targeting. Hence you would -1 hp the sorc first, give +1 hp to your own unit and then the vile sorcs ability would resolve on the stack.

Forced effects are denoted by a bold “Forced:” trigger on a card. Forced effects are triggered by specific occurrences throughout a game, and they occur automatically, whether the card’s controller wants them to resolve or not. Forced effects always occur immediately whenever their trigger is met, and they cannot be cancelled or interrupted by other actions.

Sining said:

Your quote seems to indicate that forced actions can be responded to since they are actions.

Forced is one of four card effects, it's not an action. Also note that they are not "Forced Action", they are "Forced". Slightly simpler than in CoC where you have Response and Forced Response.

Dam said:

edderkoppen said:

I have a couple of followup questions on this.

1) I know you can't repond to a Forced action, however, say I play Festering Nurglings into my Kingdom (in order to corrupt my opponents unit in his Kingdom), can he then respond to the deployments of Festering Nurglings with say a Iron Discipline on his unit, and then my Forced resolves and I have to either pay 4 res, or corrupt my own unit? Or is the Forced on FN somehow linked to the playing of it, thus my opponent doesn't get a chance to repond to the Forced of FN because it triggers on being played?

2) This regards Iron Dicipline specifically and really doesn't have much to do with Forced actions. My Empire opponent plays a cheap unit first in his deployment phase, I repond with Assuran Something, Something (the one that cancels and discard a just played unit or support card, unless he depletes his ressource pool). Can the Empire player repond to the Assuran with Iron Dicipline? Our concern was that the unit isn't really in play yet, as the Assuran targets it while it's being played. But I don't know if you can make such a distinction.

#1: Playing a Unit, support or development is an action, which can be responded to. However, you can't respond to an action with one of those, those three can only start a LIFO chain. So you pay 2 and say you're playing FN, your opponent can respond with ID. When FN comes into play, if you want to corrupt the unit protected by ID, you have to pay 4, if there are no other units in either corresponding zone, you have to corrupt the FN.

#2: Being played does suggest the thing you respond to with Asuryan's Cleansing isn't yet in play, so no ID. AC allows you to target a card being played, since it is worded specifically to allow that, ID can only target something already in play.

Thanks. That is what we thought as well, and it makes all kinds of sense. TY.