Call of Cthulhu LCG comprehensive rules

By player1908479, in CoC Rules Discussion

Hi there guys and gals!

I'm seeing a lot of questions being asked in the rules forum and thought that what we really need is some nice and detailed rules for the game, that go beyond the ones found in the core rulebook and FAQs. I am now trying to create some form of a comprehensive rules that could cover more ground and explain things better.

I've already begin the work on that but I'm going to need your help with feedback, suggestions and error-seeking as I'm not a guru myself. Any help would be appreciated as what seemed like a piece of cake in the beginning has turned out to be a really hard task and I'm not sure I'll be able to finish this alone.

Here's what I got so far (a whooping 7-8 pages) and I'd like to hear what you think about this project.

I'll be updating it when I'll get more work done.

Disclaimer: Some of the rules might not be very accurate (working on it) and some are arbitrarily added by me, they're not present in the regular rulebook but serve as a way to express the mechanics better and in more detail without contradicting the original ones (I hope!).

Here's the download link to what I got so far:

www.megaupload.com/

It's a nice idea, but ... I tend not to be pessimistic, but TO and old players did ask for a complete new version of the FAQ, that would include the handling of wounding and how it leads to destruction of the characters, how the "last chance action" is possible or not + every other question submitted in this board, regarding the lake of rules.

We did submit proposition, there was no answers ... and I left the subject, waiting for rules to be cleared...

But it's been a year and still no answer from FFG ...

Concerning the text : Second cardinal rule is not so easy to understand, as Cthulhu LCG owns different edition of the same card (ex : Two differents edition of Cthulhu, and they are both valid).

Concerning how to win stories, we had precision that the game is immediatly won after the 5th point is won on the 3rd story. This is not exactly what you presented.

Concerning the elimination of a player's card, as this one's been eliminated from the game, I don't remember something was decided about the fact that the supports attached to stories or others players cards were supposed to be removed. I can' t find it in FAQ or rules.

Concerning the fact that theplayer on the left choose the order of story resolution of the active player is eliminated, I don't agree with that :Resolving story is one single action, in the same time window. The active player choose the order of resolution and then stories resolves. If, by any means, the players is eliminated, his choice is still enacted.

I don't understand what is exactly your "enter play area". Is it in play, out of play ??? The rules stated that you need to check rules +board opposition before the card leaves the hand. With your proposition, you may allow extra deck-shuffling, which is not to be something fair for the opponent ...

Where have you seen that a player can only attach supports cards to cards he control ??? That's not true, just take a look at Bound and Gage, Snow Graves...

I'm sorry to say that I don't agree your proposition of Stats, especially the statement : "Absent stats do not receive bonuses or penalties", as a character might gain a bonus in skill, even if he has a 0 skill (tattoo artist can give +2 while committed to another character). So, I may not understand fully what you means on this point, may you explain me ???

You also might have addition to stats that are not usually present on specific subtypes (struggles bosster on character, refer to the late Hastur character)

I also have problems to understand your definition of a "trait" ...

I think this is a noble effort. I'm not sure if it will have the acceptance by FFG that you desire, but I laud your work nonetheless.

When you have the section on Maximum Hand Size, i think it makes more sense to simply state "There is no maximum hand size." No need t explain that you draw 8 cards at the beginning of the game - this seems confusing rather than clarifying.

Prodigee: I think I understood Manit0u's use of "stat" in a different way. I took it as a numerical value printed on a card. So if your card had no printed value (A location has no skill printed on it) then it cannot gain skill. And so on with other printed values.

I stylistically object to the term "stat" because is slang, not a proper English word. "value", "statistic", "numerical value"... these are all more desirable to me aesthetically.

TheProfessor said:

Prodigee: I think I understood Manit0u's use of "stat" in a different way. I took it as a numerical value printed on a card. So if your card had no printed value (A location has no skill printed on it) then it cannot gain skill. And so on with other printed values.

I stylistically object to the term "stat" because is slang, not a proper English word. "value", "statistic", "numerical value"... these are all more desirable to me aesthetically.

You're totally right saying the effort is noble and I still thanks Manitou a lot for his job.

Despite that, may I say that The guardian pillar (which is a location) has a text that allows it to gain skill. As FFG still did'nt explaine clearly the status of a card that changes type during any phase (change enacted or not), I would'nt be so confident on the "Stats".

Concerning the term, I consider myself such a pityfull english writer I should'nt suggest anything !

I like your English, Prodigee ! I think - as I said before once - I find it interesting how your French phrases translate to English sentence construction.

Like...we would say something like "The Big Car is red and impressive" - but the French might be (as example)

"La voiture rouge est brillant et impressionnant."

- the car (red) is brilliant/shiny and impressive -

This is only a minor example, as there are some better ones that are more distinctive and noticeable.

Anyways, on the matter of Guardian Pillar...I have always assumed that it retains all of its subtypes when it "Transforms"....there is no reason why you would conclude it should not...after all. So I assume that when it's just been played it is a "Dreamlands. Location. Mutable".

Now...when I commit it to a story, it also becomes "Character" in addition to those already listed Types. So, an Agency Groundskeeper could exhaust himself to destroy it - even after it commits because it (I think) is a Character - that is also a Location.... alternatively, you could play Flanking Maneuver on it ONLY when it became a character (committing) because Maneuver only works on characters.... but if Flanking Maneuver were worded "Destroy a location"...then I think you could use it at any point against the Pillar, because I don't believe it ever loses its "Location" type - even after it transforms to a Character.

But perhaps I am mistaken...

Be thankfully blessed for your kind words, Rosh ! Nice to see someone as comprehensive as you.

I used to think the same way you do concerning the status of the guardian pillar, but FFG did put a quote in the last page of the FAQ concerning the rules :

Quote :

Does Guardian Pillar’s ability allow it to be committed outside of the normal phase when characters can be committed to stories?


No, Guardian Pillar’s ability allows it to be committed as a character to a story. This is during the normal timing window
when characters are committed to stories.

Also, it is important to note that Guardian Pillar is no longer a support card while it is a character, and that it does retain its name and uniqueness.

So, the card is not considered a support anymore while committed. So, while committed, Agency Groundskeeper can do nothing ! Flanking Manoeuvre would be OK, but only if you play it during the commission steps as the Guardian is committed.

Ahh....excellent point, Prodigee.

That is a curious Ruling by FFG on the FAQ. I wonder why they concluded it should be treated as that ? (no longer Support)

But, if that is the way they say, then that is how we must play it. Thanks for pointing it out to me though.