Righteous fury.

By Enigma0216, in Dark Heresy Rules Questions

A few quick questions:

Does righteous fury really trigger every time you roll a natural 10 on the dice? For an example: a Great weapon rolls a 2 and 10 for damage (2D10) does it trigg then or do all of the rolled die need to be a 10?

The rulebook is pretty clear to me, but it just sounds a bit too good lengua.gif

Thanks!

Every single ten counts.

okidoki, but correct me if I'm wrong: two tens in a roll doesn't give you two additional D10's?

Say the warhammer struck and dealt 2x10 dmg. that's just one righteous fury test, not two?

Thanks!

Yep. Though if the Righteous Fury D10 scores another D10, that's a second RF too.

Another question then.

When gaining a righteous fury "extra attack" Does this extra attack roll on the same dificulty as the original attack? For an example: we have BS 34 +10 (aim) and gets a righteous fury. Do we roll agains an unmodified BS value of 34 or against 44?

I believe it is with the same roll as before, so in the case above it's 44.

The Rogue Trader book states that the attack roll which is "identical, all modifiers included, to the original attack roll" (p. 245).

We just assume that it's the same for DH.

Macharias the Mendicant said:

The Rogue Trader book states that the attack roll which is "identical, all modifiers included, to the original attack roll" (p. 245).

We just assume that it's the same for DH.

Actually it wasn't. DH had it as the basic characteristic roll, not the modified roll. FFG changed that when they took over and made Rogue Trader.

Ah, ok. I'll probably play it as from RT in that case.

Thanks alot!

"Actually it wasn't. DH had it as the basic characteristic roll, not the modified roll. FFG changed that when they took over and made Rogue Trader."
Where in the DH does it say that Macharias.


Quartermus said:

"Actually it wasn't. DH had it as the basic characteristic roll, not the modified roll. FFG changed that when they took over and made Rogue Trader."
Where in the DH does it say that Macharias.


It doesn't. What does it say?

"This calls for a second attack roll, Testing Weapon Skill or Ballistic Skill as if you were making another attack."

So the question becomes this: What modifiers apply to the second attack roll, and which do not?

Really, most bonuses that came before will apply now, with a few important exceptions:

Aim: It's only the next attack, so the second roll, treated as ANOTHER rather than the SAME attack roll, would get no benefit.

Counter Attack: Oddly enough, a second roll wouldn't get that -20 to the WS test.

There are probably other examples, but those two spring to mind. Things you'll keep? Range modifiers, obscurement modifiers, called shot modifiers, semi- and -full-auto bonuses, size modifiers, Red Dot Laser Sight/Targeter bonuses, and modifiers for outnumbering in close combat, amongst others.

Of course, this all seems annoyingly complex and murky (Is the second attack roll still considered a Single Shot attack for the purposes of RDLS, etc.), at least to me. Given the prominence this game gives GM modifications, I personally would suggest taking FFG's hint that perhaps one would be better served just using the exact same modifiers for RF confirmation attack roll, negating what could be a silly discussion involving technicalities and wording so against the spirit of this game it boggles the mind.

TLDR: Keep It Simple, Stupid. Just use the same modifier, or if you're more stingy, just ask for an unmodified characteristic test. Anything else is going to cost way too much time and energy.


Just to clarify: yes, I'm well aware that the DH book makes no mention of the rules as stated in the RT book. But we found the rules in the DH book to be unclear and unable to answer this question to our liking.

I got lazy with my writing and what I meant to say is that our group uses the Righteous Fury rules as they are outlined in RT when we play DH.As Unusualsupect said: it's just easier and faster that way.

I'm tripple checking here, but say we're using a full-auto burst, and we hit righteous fury, does it bypass the Rate of Fire for whatever weapon we've got? Say we've got 5 shot Fully Auto RoF, and the last shot hits RF, do we play it? Or are his hopes dashed as he's torn to pieces next round because that last shot didn't land, despite his "luck"?

Elgrun said:

I'm tripple checking here, but say we're using a full-auto burst, and we hit righteous fury, does it bypass the Rate of Fire for whatever weapon we've got? Say we've got 5 shot Fully Auto RoF, and the last shot hits RF, do we play it? Or are his hopes dashed as he's torn to pieces next round because that last shot didn't land, despite his "luck"?

You don't roll damage unless you hit the target, and unless you roll damage you can't trigger RF.

Elgrun said:

I'm tripple checking here, but say we're using a full-auto burst, and we hit righteous fury, does it bypass the Rate of Fire for whatever weapon we've got? Say we've got 5 shot Fully Auto RoF, and the last shot hits RF, do we play it? Or are his hopes dashed as he's torn to pieces next round because that last shot didn't land, despite his "luck"?

If you hit with 5 rounds from a full auto shot you roll and apply damage 5 separate times. With this one attack you could trigger RF 5 times.

ItsUncertainWho said:

Elgrun said:

I'm tripple checking here, but say we're using a full-auto burst, and we hit righteous fury, does it bypass the Rate of Fire for whatever weapon we've got? Say we've got 5 shot Fully Auto RoF, and the last shot hits RF, do we play it? Or are his hopes dashed as he's torn to pieces next round because that last shot didn't land, despite his "luck"?

If you hit with 5 rounds from a full auto shot you roll and apply damage 5 separate times. With this one attack you could trigger RF 5 times.

Correct.

There seems to be a slight misconception here that Righteous Fury is another attack. It is not. It is a mechanic which is more likened to the Critical Hit system in the D20 systems; such as 3.X series of D&D . You are not actually making an additional attack, so much as verifying that the attack was impressively damaging.

Also, read carefully. You only confirm the Righteous Fury once per damage roll. If the bonus die nets a result of 10, you continue to do damage without necessitating any additional confirmation roll.

  • " Should the result of this die also be a 10, the Emperor has indeed smiled upon you. You may immediately roll a third 1d10 and add that to the damage total as well. This process continues until you roll a number other 10. " - Dark Heresy page 195; Righteous Fury sidebar.

-=Brother Praetus=-

Thanks guys, again, just wanted to clarify.