Cloud of Flies Timing

By wraith428, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

How does cloud of flies fit into the beginning of turn sequence. Is it an action? Is it forced?

"Attach to a target unit you control. At the beginning of your turn, you may deal 1 uncancellable damage to this unit and to one target unit."

Let's say my opponent has a unit with cloud of flies. At the beginning of his last turn he took a damage to his unit and damaged one of mine. Now at the beginning of his next turn he says he's going to take another damage his unit to damage one of my units but I then play Call the Blood to kill his unit.

Is cloud of flies an action, in which case call the blood is a reaction LIFO my ooponent's unit dies before cloud of flies happens. Or is it not an action and if so can you react to it.

I think they don't want it to be an action so you don't machine gun it all in one turn using multiple actions.

Anyways do you see where I'm confused. Haven't seen anything in the errata that clears this up for me, but I might have missed it.

Wraith428

Cloud of Flies is a constant effect, just one that you can trigger during Phase 0. The order for resolving Phase 0 effects goes (IIRC): constant, then Forced, then Actions. CoF is not an Action, so it does not start a LIFO stack. Even if it were an Action, you still couldn't blast away with it more than once per turn, since "beginning of turn" trigger is a limiter in itself.

I thought the person whos turn it is decides which actions go first if any take place at the same time? That would mean a normal action could take place before a 'at the beginning of turn' action if the player decided?

Yeah, you're right about Actions, since they are optional. IIRC, the player gets to choose between similar timing events that are the same type and happen at the same time. So if you have 2 Forced that both kick at beginning of turn, you get to pick which one you do first. But if you have one of each type (constant, Forced, Action), they kick in in that order, can't do your Action before the Forced.

Is that stated in the FAQ?

Thats not even in the same context. Dormouse talks about forced actions in reference to drawing cards and resources, which aren't even in the same phase. It seems Nate has ruled on it but still nothing in the FAQ about it.

Did you read the same reply I did, #13?

"Constant Effects are always resolved first as they equate to changes or additions to the basic rules of the game (Note: they do not trigger, they initiate and resolve. Only effects that have a bold trigger word are considered triggered effects). Next come Forced Effects which trigger immediately on their trigger event resolving. They do not stack, each resolves completely on its own with the active player deciding the order of the first effect (and I believe the next player choosing which of their Forced Effects triggers next and going back and forth to all Forced Effects have resolved). Finally come player actions."

Constant come first, then Forced, then Actions is how that text reads to me.

It is not stated in the FAQ probably because it is a synthesis of rules stated in the rulebook. Constant effects are just that constant. Because there is no point of triggering, they initiate before any action window opens up and before any new action chains can be started, as soon as their text becomes relevant. Forced effects are triggered by the game and also happen immediately upon their trigger being met, regardless of whether a player wills it or no. so saying the order is Constant, Forced, Action in precedence is supported by the rulebook, regardless of what the constant effect is (drawing a card, counting resources, resolving Cloud of Flies) because they are all the same thing as far as the rules are concerned. The Active Player will decide what order conflicting effects will resolve in in the case that multiple effects with the same level of priority initiate at the same time.