Ooookay....so .... we have come up with several new questions, since the last time I put together one of these listings. Hopefully the helpful advice of the forum can clarify things as well as they did on the first Question List !
----------------
1.) - Order of Play at Game Start : So...the way we have been doing things is ...shuffle our decks / cut decks if desired ...shuffle and cut Story Cards. Lay out our 3-Domain Cards (cards used to represent the domains). Then we each draw 8-cards...and assign three of them to our domains as resources. We now each have 5-cards in hand (we do this because if you want to Mulligan, you would do it there, before laying anything under your domains as resources - obviously). At this point, with each of us satisfied with our hands, and having laid 3-resources under the domains...we place out the three Story Cards, and then we then flip a coin // roll a die......and find out who "wins" the first turn. That person is able to decide to play first, or decline and go second (if they want).
We then proceed with play normally.
Our question, then, is are we doing it correctly ? Is there some set order to doing these pre-game steps ? I don't think the rulebook was particularly clear on that. Like...should we flip to see who goes first before doing ANYTHING else- even before drawing our cards and seeing if we want to keep the hands or Mulligan ? /// should the Story Cards be laid out so we can see what they will be before rolling for 1st Turn or drawing our hands ? - etc. etc. What is the "official /// Tournament" way that two players sit down across from one another and "get the game started" ?
2.) - Timing Issues : Magic: The Gathering had a fairly easy-to-understand mechanic called "the Stack" - which functioned off a Last-In-First-Out system where if you played a Fireball spell targeting an enemy....that enemy's player could play Counterspell, stopping your Fireball...but you could then play a Counterspell of your own....blocking the enemy Counterspell ! The result would be the two Counterspells would go into their owners discards, but the original Fireball would be left - un-countered...and would resolve on the targeted enemy. This made card interactions pretty easy to understand.
However...in Call of Cthulhu, I don't think there is a "Stack" concept. So many timing questions seem prevalent to me and my friend. As an example...consider a Predatory Byakhee creature (Hastur): Action: Sacrifice Predatory Byakhee to discard the top 3 cards from an opponent's deck.
Now, it's listed as an Action.....meaning it can be played in the Action/Event/Spell - "boxes" in the Order of Play - flowchart the rulebook helpfully provides. But the question is...how is it resolved when working with or against another card ?
Example: Enemy Player's Operations Phase....he pays 3 and throws out a Short Fuse card (give target 7-wounds), targeting the Byakhee. At this point...can the Byakhee's controller "activate" the Sacrifice ability, discarding the Byakhee (since he would die anyways from the Short Fuse) - and still getting the opponent to discard the top 3-cards from their deck ?
That is our confusion, so far. Since there is no "Stack" rule or mechanism...(Other than DISRUPT cards, which are rare)....then whose "Action" gets to take precedence and "resolve first" ?
Also...let's say the opponent doesn't play a Short Fuse...let's say it's the start of the Story Phase and the opponent sends in a character. The Detailed Turn Sequence // Flowchart - says after that "Actions may be taken". Okay, so at THAT point you (the Defending player) - should be able to Sacrifice your Byakhee, to get the discard effect to happen. BUT....what if the opponent, at that same point, wants to play a Shotgun Blast, targeting your Byakhee....again...what happens "First" - where in the rules does it clarify how "multiple Actions or interactions of cards are supposed to be resolved ?".
3.) - Bearer of the Yellow Sign // Victoria Glasser - If you overpaid for the Bearer, OR just put Victoria into play without having any other characters in play for yourself or the opponent....you would be forced to select YOUR - just put down character to be hit by the Insanity Effect, correct ??
4.) - Hound of Tindalos - can be attached to enemy characters.... but how and when can you actually "detach" him ? For example...let's say while he's attached, the opponent commits him to a story...and you block with enough Combat icons to win that struggle and wound / kill the enemy character that has the Hound attached to him. At THAT point...before the enemy character would be placed into his owners discard pile....are you able to pay the "detach Hound of Tindalos" cost - and put him back on "your side of the table", still alive ?
Also...let's say the enemy character (with Hound attached) ...uses an ability that he has to exhaust to activate (say it's an Agency Groundskeeper, for ease of example). So he exhausts him....and then you decide you want the Hound back on your side of the table to be able to defend against the oncoming enemy attack in the Story Phase. You pay the cost...and the Hound detaches and comes back to your side.....now....is the Hound "un-exhausted // Ready" when he returns to your side...or, because the character he was attached to was Exhausted before you brought him back....is HE also Exhausted upon rejoining "your side of the table" ?
Lastly - same question, but with Insanity.....if the Groundskeeper was driven Insane....could you (at that point) - detach the Hound and have him return to your side of the table ....and if you did that....would the Hound be Insane (on your side of the table) - because the Groundskeeper was Insane at the time you tried to detach him (the Hound) ??
5.) - Blind Submission: Action: Choose a character with skill 2 or lower. Until the end of the phase, take control of that character.
How does this actually work (or other similiar things like The Necronomicon) ... like....when should / can you activate it ? For it to be used to best effect, it would seem you'd use it "at the start of the Story Phase - where the "Actions may be taken" box appears in the Turn Sequence chart of the Rulebook. So then you would "gain control of the enemy character" until the end of "the Story Phase". At this point...do you pick up the card and set it on your side of the table.... if so....assuming you have full control of it...can you then (at that moment) use any of its special abilities on its card - exhausting it for an effect, etc - etc ?
Let's say it was something really useful like the Agency Groundskeeper - again - that can exhaust himself to Exhaust and destroy a target Location Support card. Say the enemy has Cavern of Flame and has been using it to good effect in your game against him. You draw this Blind Submission card though. It's his turn again...and he moves through his Phases, till he gets to the Story Phase... as he announces "okay, now for the Story Phase"....you play Blind Submission... and target his Agency Groundskeeper....and take control of him till the end of the Story Phase.
Now...at that very instant...can you Exhaust the Groundskeeper (who is now on your side and under your control) - and target the opponents Cavern of Flame for destruction ? - Let's say you try to do that.... at that moment (in response to your Exhausting the Groundskeeper) ....could the opponent try to stop you (again a Timing question) by tossing out a Shotgun Blast to try and kill off his own Groundskeeper before the "destroy location" ability is able to resolve ?
6.) - Power Drain - It says it can cancel an Action or Response just played.... it doesn't mention Forced Responses. I assume (pretty basic one here) - that these are excluded.....meaning you could not play Power Drain to try and stop the "Forced Response" wounding effect of a committed Ravager from the Deep. . . ?
7.) - Opening the Limbo Gate : - does the controller of this card (the one played it) - actually get to choose the revived Character to be put back into play for BOTH Players ? The way it is worded seems to suggest that you (the active player who laid down the card) gets to choose which characters are selected for revival. . .
8.) - Sacrificing Things - Can you use cards like Local Sheriff or Descendant of Eibon...to get around the "penalty" of having to Sacrifice a character to feed Cthulhu (or other similiar effects) ? What I mean is....you draw your 2-cards...at that point you must Sacrifice a character to Cthulhu....okay...you pick Local Sheriff. He is placed into your Discard Pile. BUT....you are still in the Draw Phase, and there is a clear box in the Turn Sequence section saying "Actions may be taken" - so can you (at that point) . . . just pay 1-to return the Local Sheriff to your hand, since he did in fact, "enter the discard pile this phase"... as a result of Cthulhu.
It seems like this would be fine / valid - but I thought I would ask for clarification.
9.) - Professor Herman Mulder - (Agency) - goes Insane any time there are 6-or more Characters in play. Seems simple....but does he ever come BACK from Insanity....if there are still 6 or more guys in play ....or does he constantly go from being flipped upside down (Insanity Effect) - to being Restored at the start of your Refresh Phase...(turned to Exhausted) ...and then (because there are still 6 or more characters in play) - IMMEDIATELY get flipped back over to fully Insane again ?
10.) - Small Price to Pay - The way the card is worded, it seems the only things you need for it to "be played" - are two characters in play - one on your side, and the other on the opponents side. You play this card... and "nominate" two cards/characters. Then you say "that one goes Insane, and this one is wounded".
Question: If you controlled an Invulnerable character, say Y'Golonac for examples' sake.....and your opponent had some character with no Terror Icons and lacking Willpower (so they actually COULD go Insane) ....could you nominate Y'Gol and that enemy guy.....have the enemy guy go Insane.....then "try to wound Y'Gol - but fail since he's Invulnerable and can't be wounded"..... in other words, is there any way to get around this effect by using an Invulnerable character (on your side) - or is the card not "allowed to be played" unless you have a guy who can either be wounded or go Insane ?
------
That's all for now ! Thanks to any / all who can chime in with helpful clarifications and explanations of these questions !
.... ? Trying to do the Terror/Insane flip-side....by saying you choose Y'Golonac to go Insane, and just wound the Groundskeeper....would also seem not to work since the Rulebook again mentions,
"Characters that have a terror icon or the Willpower keyword can never (regardless of card effects) go insane for any reason,
nor may such a character be chosen to go insane
." - pg. 9