Quick question about the FTL jump:
The instructions state:
> If the fleet marker has moved to one of the blue spaces of
> the Jump Preparation track, players may force the fleet to
> jump using the “FTL Control” location. If the fleet jumps due to
> someone activating this location, there is a chance that the
> fleet will lose some population.
> The current player rolls the die, and if a “6” or lower is rolled,
> then a number of population is lost equal to the number listed
> on the current space of the Jump Preparation track. Players
> then follow all steps for “Jumping the Fleet” on this page.
My two questions are:
1) If the activate player choices to use the FTL controls to jump early, and they roll a 7+ result, does the fleet jump without losing any population? Or does the action just fail?
2) When the FTL prep reaches "auto", at the final phase of a person's turn, will the fleet will jump without needing someone to activate the FTL during their action phase of their turn, or do they still need to choose to do it, albeit with no chance of failure or population loss?
Thanks in advance! We played a game tonight, but made a few mistakes, and we're unsure about the ruling here in regards to jumping to FTL. If you're able to jump with no chance of failure in the blue portions of the FTL prep counter, it seems a bit too easy to skip away from combat to some people.