How many times can you trigger a response?

By MechaJeff, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

This thought just came to me, and I wasn't able to dig up an answer in the rules, but I suppose it is mega likely I simply missed the entry.

How many times can a single card trigger a response? I think the perfect example for my question might be something like Pentos.

If I have three Targ characters out, and they all have attachments, and someone plays Valar, can I save each of them, each individually triggering Pentos' response and discarding an attachment to save them? Or can I only do it once within the confines of resolving Valar?

It's a little complicated, so bear with me....

You can only use each Response once time per trigger . When you look at a card like CS-Robb Stark (Response: after you win a military challenge in which Robb Stark participates, choose and kill a character controlled by the losing player.), it should make sense that after winning one challenge, you get to trigger the Response 1 time and kill 1 character, not keep triggering the Response until all of your opponent's characters are dead.

But the important bit here is the "per trigger" part. Not only can you use multiple Responses for a single trigger, but you can use a single Response 1 time each for multiple triggers.

That's a very important distinction for your Pentos example. The trigger for Pentos' "save" Response is a character being killed, not the killing effect itself. So even though there is only 1 Valar, it is killing three separate characters. Each of those characters is a separate trigger for Pentos. So Pentos can be used 3 times, once for each character. You are still only using it 1 time for each trigger (a character being killed), it just happens that one effect (Valar) created 3 different triggers.

Hope that helps.

That makes perfect sense, and works out exactly as I thought.

Thank you berry much.

Not just concerning responses, but also abilities, as long as it doesn't have a limitation of "Once per phase/round", can you use an ability as many times as you want (assuming you pay the costs associated)? For example, Arya Stark from the core set, if you have 3 influence to kneel, could you remove Stealth from three different enemies?

megakilroy said:

Not just concerning responses, but also abilities, as long as it doesn't have a limitation of "Once per phase/round", can you use an ability as many times as you want (assuming you pay the costs associated)? For example, Arya Stark from the core set, if you have 3 influence to kneel, could you remove Stealth from three different enemies?

Yes. Just make sure that you are paying the cost 3 separate times. For example, you could kneel 3 different Norther Fiefdoms (1 influence each) to use Arya 3 different times, but you could not kneel 1 Red Keep (3 influence) to use Arya 3 different times.