So I was playing a 1v1 game last night and I had the spread dissent tactics card. The card that allows you basically to retreat neutral units, whether allied or not, to another area (cant remember all the details). Anyways, my opponent had a giant that I wanted to retreat that was allied to my opponent. Now heres the pickle: I was under the impression that I could choose to move HIS allied unit where I wanted (although the directions on the card never mention this) even if that meant into a nearby tile filled with other UNALLIED neutral units. My opponent claimed that because the neutral unit is allied to him he chooses where the unit retreats to (so obviously he'd move it to a nearby friendly area). Suggestions?
spread dissent card question
Valor said:
So I was playing a 1v1 game last night and I had the spread dissent tactics card. The card that allows you basically to retreat neutral units, whether allied or not, to another area (cant remember all the details). Anyways, my opponent had a giant that I wanted to retreat that was allied to my opponent. Now heres the pickle: I was under the impression that I could choose to move HIS allied unit where I wanted (although the directions on the card never mention this) even if that meant into a nearby tile filled with other UNALLIED neutral units. My opponent claimed that because the neutral unit is allied to him he chooses where the unit retreats to (so obviously he'd move it to a nearby friendly area). Suggestions?
This very question was asked to Corey K, the designer of the game; the answer as, if the neutral is allied, the player who is allied to it controls where it retreats (meaning it could retreat to another friendly area and he would keep it, albeit routed due to the retreat).
I think this may be in my Rulings from Corey document, but if not, it will be in my next one
You can find the document on BGG
Also, for what it's worth, if the neutrals are UNallied, the player to your left will choose where they go (as they control all unallied neutrals during your turn). However, since they aren't allied, they cannot be moved into a friendly area, only another uncontrolled area (IE, the player to your left can't use it to GAIN control of the neutrals). They can only move to a player-controlled area if that player is already allied to them.
thanks for the clarification