questions

By chaosisgod, in Doom

I'm the unfortunate player stuck with the invaders in our club and since the game is far from balanced my friends keep bending the rules at their whim. so i'd like to ask you to clarify a few things :)

there's a hint about closing doors on figures occupying a single space (the hint being in the rules that you cannot close doors on large figures). to me it's rather obvious that whoever is caught by the closing doors is dead but my friends disagree ... they say you either can't close doors on ppl or they get pushed out of the way

i'm not sure if i need 6 victory points (kills / deck rehashes) on a single level or all levels combined if we are playing the whole game not just scenarios

on lv2 there's a room with the lights off and the scenarios says i should not reveal the enemies they can't see (the sight range being 4 squares). i read somewhere that as soon as a zone is revealed all the invaders in that zone are in play. how do i move the invisible ones? i used health markers as blips but that still leaves movement of 2/4 space invaders open to interpretation

if a hell knight kills a marine does he get to move the location from which the 8-16 spaces are to be calculated or not? (on lv1 in the last room marine dies 8 spaces from the wall with the red door, if hell knight can push the corpse closer to the wall the marines can't escape by death if it can't it's very hard to take advantage of the superior firepower)

if marine rolls X on red or yellow dice and rolls an ammunition icon on the second roll to determine whether the weapon is destroyed, does he lose the ammo? the errata / faq seems to suggest so but like i said my marines are grasping @ straws :)

i would also like to get a confirmation on this one .. the assassin marine ability allows the marine to see through objects / ppl. can i still spawn enemies behind obstacles since the description says "during fight"

if i use the close quarters invader event card can the marine decide to switch to fist? since the card can only be used if the marine is reaching for a ranged weapon

i hope i haven't missed the answers to these... i read the errata/faq and a few pages of the forum

chaosisgod said:

I'm the unfortunate player stuck with the invaders in our club and since the game is far from balanced my friends keep bending the rules at their whim. so i'd like to ask you to clarify a few things :)

Take a look here if you need to try something different:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/540183/our-house-rules-playtested-for-at-least-3-years

chaosisgod said:

there's a hint about closing doors on figures occupying a single space (the hint being in the rules that you cannot close doors on large figures). to me it's rather obvious that whoever is caught by the closing doors is dead but my friends disagree ... they say you either can't close doors on ppl or they get pushed out of the way

Doors occupy the LINE between the spaces and not actual spaces. So you cannot close the doors on smaller figures and you cannot close doors on bigger figures too because they already occupy the 2 spaces in front of the door. You cannot close doors diagonally.

So there is no problem. The doors won't close on a figure. They just don't close. The only door that can kill a figure when closing is the Airlocks from the expansion. The Airlocks MUST close and this is the only time that a door can kill a figure.

chaosisgod said:

i'm not sure if i need 6 victory points (kills / deck rehashes) on a single level or all levels combined if we are playing the whole game not just scenarios

Six for each scenario. The game rules are for a single scenario. Campaing is just scenarios played in order. The same rules apply for each scenario.

chaosisgod said:

on lv2 there's a room with the lights off and the scenarios says i should not reveal the enemies they can't see (the sight range being 4 squares). i read somewhere that as soon as a zone is revealed all the invaders in that zone are in play. how do i move the invisible ones? i used health markers as blips but that still leaves movement of 2/4 space invaders open to interpretation

If a scenario instruction contradicts the rules then ignore the rules. You don't place the Invaders that they cannot see. When they move into sight of the Invaders then you place them on the board. It's as simple as that. No blips, no invisible Invaders no nothing.

chaosisgod said:

if a hell knight kills a marine does he get to move the location from which the 8-16 spaces are to be calculated or not? (on lv1 in the last room marine dies 8 spaces from the wall with the red door, if hell knight can push the corpse closer to the wall the marines can't escape by death if it can't it's very hard to take advantage of the superior firepower)

No the marine is fragged instantly. No dead body moving allowed.

chaosisgod said:

if marine rolls X on red or yellow dice and rolls an ammunition icon on the second roll to determine whether the weapon is destroyed, does he lose the ammo? the errata / faq seems to suggest so but like i said my marines are grasping @ straws :)

No, the second roll is made only for weapon breakage and nothing else.

chaosisgod said:

i would also like to get a confirmation on this one .. the assassin marine ability allows the marine to see through objects / ppl. can i still spawn enemies behind obstacles since the description says "during fight"

Yes, you can.

chaosisgod said:

if i use the close quarters invader event card can the marine decide to switch to fist? since the card can only be used if the marine is reaching for a ranged weapon

Close Quarters?!? I don't remember such a card! It's been a looong time since I used the basic Invader deck but I don't remember any Close Quarters card. What is the text exactly? Maybe you mean the "Jammed" card?

FragMaster said:

chaosisgod said:

I'm the unfortunate player stuck with the invaders in our club and since the game is far from balanced my friends keep bending the rules at their whim. so i'd like to ask you to clarify a few things :)

Take a look here if you need to try something different:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/540183/our-house-rules-playtested-for-at-least-3-years

chaosisgod said:

there's a hint about closing doors on figures occupying a single space (the hint being in the rules that you cannot close doors on large figures). to me it's rather obvious that whoever is caught by the closing doors is dead but my friends disagree ... they say you either can't close doors on ppl or they get pushed out of the way

Doors occupy the LINE between the spaces and not actual spaces. So you cannot close the doors on smaller figures and you cannot close doors on bigger figures too because they already occupy the 2 spaces in front of the door. You cannot close doors diagonally.

So there is no problem. The doors won't close on a figure. They just don't close. The only door that can kill a figure when closing is the Airlocks from the expansion. The Airlocks MUST close and this is the only time that a door can kill a figure.

chaosisgod said:

i'm not sure if i need 6 victory points (kills / deck rehashes) on a single level or all levels combined if we are playing the whole game not just scenarios

Six for each scenario. The game rules are for a single scenario. Campaing is just scenarios played in order. The same rules apply for each scenario.

chaosisgod said:

on lv2 there's a room with the lights off and the scenarios says i should not reveal the enemies they can't see (the sight range being 4 squares). i read somewhere that as soon as a zone is revealed all the invaders in that zone are in play. how do i move the invisible ones? i used health markers as blips but that still leaves movement of 2/4 space invaders open to interpretation

If a scenario instruction contradicts the rules then ignore the rules. You don't place the Invaders that they cannot see. When they move into sight of the Invaders then you place them on the board. It's as simple as that. No blips, no invisible Invaders no nothing.

chaosisgod said:

if a hell knight kills a marine does he get to move the location from which the 8-16 spaces are to be calculated or not? (on lv1 in the last room marine dies 8 spaces from the wall with the red door, if hell knight can push the corpse closer to the wall the marines can't escape by death if it can't it's very hard to take advantage of the superior firepower)

No the marine is fragged instantly. No dead body moving allowed.

chaosisgod said:

if marine rolls X on red or yellow dice and rolls an ammunition icon on the second roll to determine whether the weapon is destroyed, does he lose the ammo? the errata / faq seems to suggest so but like i said my marines are grasping @ straws :)

No, the second roll is made only for weapon breakage and nothing else.

chaosisgod said:

i would also like to get a confirmation on this one .. the assassin marine ability allows the marine to see through objects / ppl. can i still spawn enemies behind obstacles since the description says "during fight"

Yes, you can.

chaosisgod said:

if i use the close quarters invader event card can the marine decide to switch to fist? since the card can only be used if the marine is reaching for a ranged weapon

Close Quarters?!? I don't remember such a card! It's been a looong time since I used the basic Invader deck but I don't remember any Close Quarters card. What is the text exactly? Maybe you mean the "Jammed" card?

thank you!

as for the last question ... i can't tell you what the original event card is called since we have a translated version and even that is not with me right now :)

the card says i can force the marine to change weapons but i can only use it in case the marine was trying to use a ranged weapon.

Sounds like the Jammed card. The idea is that that individual weapon "jams" and the marine has to use a different weapon. Fist and Chainsaw both count as a different weapon. Also, it's not entirely clear if the marine happens to have TWO (or more) of the same weapon, can he just use his second shotgun? We rule "no", since we play similar to video games that if a marine walks over a weapon he already has, he does not gain the second weapon.

-shnar

shnar said:

Sounds like the Jammed card. The idea is that that individual weapon "jams" and the marine has to use a different weapon. Fist and Chainsaw both count as a different weapon. Also, it's not entirely clear if the marine happens to have TWO (or more) of the same weapon, can he just use his second shotgun? We rule "no", since we play similar to video games that if a marine walks over a weapon he already has, he does not gain the second weapon.

-shnar

Yes it sounds like the Jammed card. But it has been officially clarified that if a marine is carrying two of the same weapon he CAN actually use the second one. The card essentially targets the specific weapon token not the weapon type.