Clearly you receive the bonus.
Honestly "equipped" it's outside Arkham jergon: no items are equipped even when used in the last combat. You use items, you devote hands to them, you exhaust items AND you have an equipment. But there is no definition of the word "equipped" in the rules that I'm aware of.
Sorry if my answer was misleading. I read your "equipped" as if you were intending "in play", it seemed to me the only logical reading. You have the item in play, you get the bonus to Fight checks.