Some questions regarding spells

By alex 2.1, in Talisman Rules Questions

1. Can Spell Call be used on Hex or Barrier? If yes, when and what happens?
2. Can Cloak of Shadows or Invisibility be used even if you evade nothing?
3. Can Toadify only be used before a battle?
4. Do you have to cross the stormriver, if you use Water Walking?
5. Can Resurrection be used on a player, when he has fought a creature and won, to make it a draw or is the player an illegal target, because he won? (The creature can’t be the target. The spell only targets players or enemies)
6. What happens, if you use Magic Portal and you don’t want to get to the rolled location?

Alex 2.0 said:

1. Can Spell Call be used on Hex or Barrier? If yes, when and what happens?
2. Can Cloak of Shadows or Invisibility be used even if you evade nothing?
3. Can Toadify only be used before a battle?
4. Do you have to cross the stormriver, if you use Water Walking?
5. Can Resurrection be used on a player, when he has fought a creature and won, to make it a draw or is the player an illegal target, because he won? (The creature can’t be the target. The spell only targets players or enemies)
6. What happens, if you use Magic Portal and you don’t want to get to the rolled location?

1. You get those Spells as soon as they reach the discard pile I suppose. But still you have to cast Spell Call exactly after those Spells are cast. Nice thing is that the Spell taking is delayed for some turns, so you may gain a new Spell if you have an ability such as the Wizard's.

2. Both Spells give you the ability to Evade for a certain time, so they could be cast even if you don't Evade anything.

3. Yes. An exception seems to be the combination Toadify + Hydra Spell (also Characters not engaged in battle can be affected)

4. No, you don't have to

5. Resurrection is cast on an Enemy (no Characters). It can't be used on a creature (i.e. the Sentinel).

6. In case of the Spell, you needn't go to the destination (text is clear; when the word "may" is used, it's always an option). With the Adventure Card it's exactly the opposite. You're not forced to use the Magic Portal if you encounter the card; if you roll, you must accept the result.

Thanks for the clarification. I made a mistake with question 5. Sure, Resurrection only targets enemies, but i meant Preservation, which can target a player or a creature. Can you play Preservation on a player, when he won a battle against a creature to force a draw?

Alex 2.0 said:

Thanks for the clarification. I made a mistake with question 5. Sure, Resurrection only targets enemies, but i meant Preservation, which can target a player or a creature. Can you play Preservation on a player, when he won a battle against a creature to force a draw?

Preservation can be cast on a Character, Enemy or Follower. It prevents the Character from losing a Life (whatever the cause) and the Enemy/Follower from being killed. It cannot be played on creatures, just Enemies. Restoration Spell does the same, but can't target Characters.

For now, there's no Spell that can force a Character to a stand-off in a combat.

The_Warlock said:

For now, there's no Spell that can force a Character to a stand-off in a combat.

Do you mean without rolling or something? Because say your char wins a battle, I cast Preservation on the Enemy you fought, combat ends and is considered a stand-off.

Dam said:

The_Warlock said:

For now, there's no Spell that can force a Character to a stand-off in a combat.

Do you mean without rolling or something? Because say your char wins a battle, I cast Preservation on the Enemy you fought, combat ends and is considered a stand-off.

I meant a Spell cast on a Character that forces him to a stand-off, whatever the result. Of course Preservation (and Resurrection) work on beaten Enemies and change the victory to a stand-off.

Basically there are not many Spells that force a specific die result or outcomes, except Twist of Fate that still requires to use Fate and does not act on others.

The_Warlock said:

Dam said:

The_Warlock said:

For now, there's no Spell that can force a Character to a stand-off in a combat.

Do you mean without rolling or something? Because say your char wins a battle, I cast Preservation on the Enemy you fought, combat ends and is considered a stand-off.

I meant a Spell cast on a Character that forces him to a stand-off, whatever the result. Of course Preservation (and Resurrection) work on beaten Enemies and change the victory to a stand-off.

Basically there are not many Spells that force a specific die result or outcomes, except Twist of Fate that still requires to use Fate and does not act on others.

Not at the moment, no!

Ell.

The_Warlock said:

I meant a Spell cast on a Character that forces him to a stand-off, whatever the result. Of course Preservation (and Resurrection) work on beaten Enemies and change the victory to a stand-off.

Well, if you want to get technical gran_risa.gif . I mean, if you beat a Giant and I cast Preservation on said Giant, the Spell still forced a stand-off, no gui%C3%B1o.gif ? I get your point though. Then again, casting on the Enemy/Creature is a surer way to getting through, just in case the character had, say, Amulet.