Visits in the Village

By rimmer3, in Talisman Rules Questions

Thief: Whenever you visit the Market, Market Day, or Village you may take one card of your choice from the Purchase deck.

If Thief visits the Village and uses this ability, is that only thing he does there? Or does he visit Blacksmith/Healer/Mystic first and then takes the card?

The same thing... can he also be a normal customer in the Market and during the Market Day before stealing?

Merchant: When you visit the Village, Market, or Market Day you may also discard one of your own Objects to take any one Object from the Purchase deck. You may also sell any of your Objects for 1 gold each and Magic Objects for 3 gold each.

Similar question here. Can Merchant for example come in the Village, sell a Magic Object for 3 golds and then give them to the Healer and heal himself in one turn?

IIRC, the ruling was that Thief gets to steal + one of the three. Same should apply to the Merchant as well. I think it was Velhart who posted the official answer when I asked him about it (in case you want to search for it).

Thank you, Dam.

I always search but mostly fail.

I have also ask Goodenough about the merchant. It was the same idea

Hi John Goodenough,

Can the Merchant also use his special ability, to trade a object for another or selling objects(except buying) when he visit the healer or mystic?


A: Yes. When a character visits the Village he may also perform any other actions such as using a special ability for the space, completing a quest for the space, discarding the Hag Follower, etc.