Danse Macabre, Death in Inner region

By Puer, in Talisman Rules Questions

I searched the forums and came up with more confusion than answer on this question, plus no official answer, so here goes:

With Danse Macabre alternate ending, 1) can death be sent by the "character on CoC" to the inner region?, and 2) can a result of 5 send death to another character in the inner region including the "person on CoC"?

My group plays that with Danse Macabre revealed, Death can indeed go in the inner region including on a roll of 5 back to "person on CoC". Another group I play with plays that only the "person on CoC" can send death to inner region and no other character can send death to the inner region. The other posts I've read seem to indicate that there is another strain of thought out there that noone can send death to the inner region, even the person on CoC.

I am just curious if there is an official answer, and what other groups do.

Too late in the night to do digging around the forums, but IIRC, the official answer is that Reaper can't get to the Inner Region in any way, shape or form, including Dance Macabre ending.

Dam said:

Too late in the night to do digging around the forums, but IIRC, the official answer is that Reaper can't get to the Inner Region in any way, shape or form, including Dance Macabre ending.

Seconded! I had an official answer from JG aobut this.

presumably then characters should strive to get to the inner region to avoid the grimreaper and then go for the COC to kick ass and defeat the characters there for a win.

Cynewulf said:

Dam said:

Too late in the night to do digging around the forums, but IIRC, the official answer is that Reaper can't get to the Inner Region in any way, shape or form, including Dance Macabre ending.

Seconded! I had an official answer from JG aobut this.

IMO, an answer is official if and only if it appears in the official FAQ. Barring that, I go by the wording of the ending which clearly states " in ANY region "...

Have you seen the "can vs. cannot" rule? By that rules logic, the Grim Reaper cannot , in any manner, go inside the Inner Region.

So Grim Reaper ca nnot go inside the Inner Region including Danse Macabre ending. Characters can avoid Grim Reaper in Inner Region then. In that case during Danse Macabre ending character on the Crown can do nothing. And if other characters are too weak to challenge him they can just walk from the Plains of Peril to the Valley of Fire and back? Isn't that a little bit weird ending?

Rimmer said:

So Grim Reaper ca nnot go inside the Inner Region including Danse Macabre ending. Characters can avoid Grim Reaper in Inner Region then. In that case during Danse Macabre ending character on the Crown can do nothing. And if other characters are too weak to challenge him they can just walk from the Plains of Peril to the Valley of Fire and back? Isn't that a little bit weird ending?

Could still fail Mines/Crypt roll and get bounced to the Outer/Middle Region. If not, meaning you have Str/Craft 18, probably should've hit the Inner Region long before the character at the CoC did.

So if another player makes it up there they just battle it out? Then whoever wins takes over Dans Macabre if there are any other players left on the board?

inkblob said:

So if another player makes it up there they just battle it out? Then whoever wins takes over Dans Macabre if there are any other players left on the board?

DM ending states right on the card what you do in both situation, A) if you're alone or B) another character at CoC with you. In B you attack each other until one remains.

Uhm.. When I apply Can vs Cannot logic on the problem Death CAN go into inner region during DM ending. Rules says he cant but the ending says he CAN..

Nioreh said:

Uhm.. When I apply Can vs Cannot logic on the problem Death CAN go into inner region during DM ending. Rules says he cant but the ending says he CAN..

Too bad that Cannot trumps Can, as per the rules.

Sry, I ment Special ability vs Rule..

(Special ability winns)