Ruling Questions, Rule lawyer Problem

By Victor71, in Talisman Rules Questions

Here are some questions that came up in last night's game. The rules lawyer in our game likes things verified when it comes to certain rules. enfadado.gif

1) When a character roles on the table for the Grim Reaper and the result rolled is a one is there any way to avoid him killing you? Our Dark Cultist thought that she could avoid the killing by casting a healing spell to restore all the lives because it states "It is Time. Lose all Lives, you are killed"

2) This has to do with a Follower adventure card from the Reaper Expansion. Familiar , Card states "The familiar will become your follower if you lose 1 life. Add 2 to your craft. Whenever you draw a spell that you do not wish to keep, you may discard it and draw another one to replace it, which you must keep." Now the Vampiress (Rules Lawyer) says that when he takes that follower, he does not have to pay for that life to take it, because it was already paid when it first came into play from it being drawn. He should have to pay the life because of the first line of text on the card.

3) Same Vampiress states that he could take a follower from a character and encounter the space he lands on, instead of having to encounter the character. Should he have to encounter the charcter instead of the space to take the Follower?

4)Again, Same Vampiress, the Monk Character attacked the Vampiress with her having only 1 life left, she lost the battle. This would have killed her, but he says that he could kill off one of his followers and still be alive with 1 life. But, the Vampiress card states "During your turn, you may drain the life force from any of your followers. Discard the chosen Followers and gain 1 life for each." So could she gain life's even though it was not her turn?

Please, someone help me to answer these questions. happy.gif I tried to look for the answers on the forum, but could not find any. llorando.gif

Fred Victor

Victor71 said:

Here are some questions that came up in last night's game. The rules lawyer in our game likes things verified when it comes to certain rules. enfadado.gif

1) When a character roles on the table for the Grim Reaper and the result rolled is a one is there any way to avoid him killing you? Our Dark Cultist thought that she could avoid the killing by casting a healing spell to restore all the lives because it states "It is Time. Lose all Lives, you are killed"

2) This has to do with a Follower adventure card from the Reaper Expansion. Familiar , Card states "The familiar will become your follower if you lose 1 life. Add 2 to your craft. Whenever you draw a spell that you do not wish to keep, you may discard it and draw another one to replace it, which you must keep." Now the Vampiress (Rules Lawyer) says that when he takes that follower, he does not have to pay for that life to take it, because it was already paid when it first came into play from it being drawn. He should have to pay the life because of the first line of text on the card.

3) Same Vampiress states that he could take a follower from a character and encounter the space he lands on, instead of having to encounter the character. Should he have to encounter the charcter instead of the space to take the Follower?

4)Again, Same Vampiress, the Monk Character attacked the Vampiress with her having only 1 life left, she lost the battle. This would have killed her, but he says that he could kill off one of his followers and still be alive with 1 life. But, the Vampiress card states "During your turn, you may drain the life force from any of your followers. Discard the chosen Followers and gain 1 life for each." So could she gain life's even though it was not her turn?

Please, someone help me to answer these questions. happy.gif I tried to look for the answers on the forum, but could not find any. llorando.gif

Fred Victor

1) Only way to avoid a roll of 1 on the Reaper is to pay fate!

2) The Vampiress must still lose 1 life when taking the Familiar off of another player.

3) No. If the Vampiress takes a Follower from a character, he cannot encounter the space, as he has encountered a player on the space.

4) No. The Vampiress may only do this during her own turn.

Ell.

Thanks Ell,

This has helped Tremendously. I have found myself putting alot of questions to posts for games that we play with the Rules lawyer. Some of these questions are really self explained, but he likes to challenge the rules when it pertains to him or against someone else. He is a great person, but does not like to lose, but then again who does.

Fred Victor

Victor71 said:

Thanks Ell,

This has helped Tremendously. I have found myself putting alot of questions to posts for games that we play with the Rules lawyer. Some of these questions are really self explained, but he likes to challenge the rules when it pertains to him or against someone else. He is a great person, but does not like to lose, but then again who does.

Fred Victor

In my experience, a rules laywer is someone who is well versed in the rules and bogs the game down with technical, but accurate, information. The person you have described is a desperate fillibusterer, someone who bogs the game down with garbage when they are about to get disadvantaged. There are lots and lots of other great people out there, seek them out!!

i would suggest always sneaking the toadifys and randoms into ur pockets , and secretly stockpile cards such as hag and horsetheif and place them on the draw deck when hes not paying attention. b4 you can do anything with him, he must learn to lose. if he doesnt, he will always ruin your fun

talismanamsilat said:

3) No. If the Vampiress takes a Follower from a character, he cannot encounter the space, as he has encountered a player on the space.

is that right? I thought the Vampiress could take a follower when she lands on a character THEN can encounter the space. I get confuised between that and the leprecaurn "does he still encounter the woods when he gains 3 gold". Or is it a character encounter rule?.

talismanamsilat said:

2) The Vampiress must still lose 1 life when taking the Familiar off of another player.

Elliot, in this case (or, for example, if Mesmerism is cast on a character to 'steal' his Familiar), what happens if he can't/won't pay the life? Does the Familiar remain attached to the original character, or it is discarded?

The player with the Mesmerism Spell must forfeit a life, if he takes the Familiar from another character. If he is not willing to sacrifice a life, he cannot cast the Mesmerism Spell on the Familiar!

Ell.