Hi, i was re-reading the fear and frightened condition and wonder now how it should work, how are other people using this?
Here's my issue:
Fear/Terror seems pretty stright forward, when you "confront" something with a Fear or Terror rating, you make a roll, if you fail and generate two or more banes you are frightened.
Now the frightened condition is a dependant condition, and the bit that confuses me is that it is actually mentioned and explained in the rules, that it last as long as the person is engaged with the thing causing fear or terror.... So as soon as you become disengaged with the "thing" you are no lnoger frightened, does that they mean you can engage it again next turn and the frightened condition is simply gone?
On re-reading the rules it now seems it is relatively easy to get rid of the frightened condition (just disengage) and also makes me now wonder at which point you roll for terror/fear in the first place.
In the rules it mentions the word confront, so does this mean "see" or does this mean "engage"?
If you roll for fear the minute you see something (which seems sort of sensible), you are unlikely to be engaged with it, so even if you pick up the firghtened condition, you'll lose is at the end of your turn as you are no longer engaged.
Frightened is the only dependant effect available so far (dont have WoM yet, any in there?) so the intent of dependant effects is al ittle hard to gauge, but it seems a little strange that you only need to be engaged with it for it to cause you to be frightened and as soon as you disengage, the frightening conditino goes.
Initially, my thought on the rules were roll as soon as you seen something, and you remain frightened until the thing that caused it has gone. If you are engaged with it, you take the stance dice hit (as explained on the condition card) but even if not engaged with it, you still take the stress hit (2nd sentence on the card)
What are other peoples' thoughts?