Scalethorn Asylum

By Dunwich Horror, in CoC General Discussion

Quick question: Scalethorn Asylum (Cthulhu) states:

"Any phase: Exhaust Scalethorn Asylum and pay 1 to choose a character. Until the end of the phase, that character gains the Deep One trait and 2 combat and 2 arcane icons"

My question: "gain" suggests that the character gets the icons in addition to his normal icons (as, for example, Son of Yeb who "gains 1 combat icon for each cultist in play" or the Anthropology Advisor who allows all investigators to "gain an investigation icon").

Is it correct that the character I choose with Scalethorn Asylum gains the icons in addition to his icons or do they replace his normal icons (since Deep Ones usually only have 2 combat and 2 arcane icons).

Edit: sorry, wrong forum, I thought I was in the rules section. Could a moderator move this thread to the rules section? Thank you!

Yes, you are correct.

Moderator? What moderator?

Moderator, that's rich!

Also note Scalethorn suffers from two errata.

Should read, "gains the Deep One subtype," and should read "Action" instead of "Any Phase."

Neither affects your question,

which the professor addressed.

The question remains if you can trait any phase.