New GM Planning An Epic Campaign - Advice, Suggestions Appreciated

By SC_Andy, in Dark Heresy Gamemasters

Hi. I'm new to GM'ing a Dark Heresy campaign, but not to Dark Heresy. It's the first RPG game I've ever played and I simply love it. In fact, I'm in two campaigns on different days as a player.

The main theme of the campaign is around the Tyrant Star, and involves a mad cult trying to invoke the end of the light of the emperor. I'm also planning to add in a third element, not connected to Komus or the cultists. Well, I have six players currently, two of them psykers (=disaster waiting to happen sorpresa.gif demonio.gif ), and perhaps about to add a 7th (and I'm not sure how I will be able to handle 7 players).

There's just so many sessions I can include cultists & warp creatures as antagonists and I don't want my players to get bored. I don't have the 'Creatures Anathema' book, unfortunately, and have to rely on the core-rulebook. I have managed to create my cultists from the book (their stats, traits, talents, skills). I would like to include sentient xenos but I don't have the stats for them. I don't know much about the Warhammer 40k universe, though.

Any advice or suggestions for a new GM?

Thanks.

Andy

I know, depending on where you get your gaming books, that DH books can be a tad hard on the wallet. But seriously ... pick up Disciples of the Dark Gods and Creatures Anathema. I would also recommend the GM's Toolkit, the Radical's Handbook, and the Inquisitor's Handbook, if you don't already have them.

Other than that, it's not too difficult to use the antagonists in the core rulebook as a base to create your own. That's the wonderful thing about bad guys ... they come in all shapes and sizes and flavors. Just give them what they need to perform the role you want them to, maybe adjust characteristics here and there, swap out some gear, and presto: you've got your own cultist template, or daemon, or xeno, or servitor, or whatever. happy.gif