Spells. How to cast them

By rimmer3, in Talisman Rules Questions

1. If the spell says cast at any time , does that mean I can cast it even during another character's turn?

2. Rules say: A character may only cast one Spell during another character's turn. Does that apply even during battle/combat when I am attacked by another character? Am I able to use only one spell against him?

3. During Battle Royal ending if there are only 2 players left and one of them is much weaker and is constantly attacked by stronger character is he allowed to cast only one spell (because it's not his turn)?

(It happened last night. Sprite was constantly attacked by Ogre Chieftain during Battle Royal ending. She wanted to cast spell so she could take more useful one. But is she allowed to cast the new one?)

Rimmer said:

1. If the spell says cast at any time , does that mean I can cast it even during another character's turn?

2. Rules say: A character may only cast one Spell during another character's turn. Does that apply even during battle/combat when I am attacked by another character? Am I able to use only one spell against him?

3. During Battle Royal ending if there are only 2 players left and one of them is much weaker and is constantly attacked by stronger character is he allowed to cast only one spell (because it's not his turn)?

(It happened last night. Sprite was constantly attacked by Ogre Chieftain during Battle Royal ending. She wants to cast spell so she can take more useful one. But is she allowed to cast the new one?)

1. Yes.

2. I think that if you had two spells applicable to battle or just before battle (eg, Finger of Death and Toadification), if you were attacked by a player (in battle), you could cast finger of death, then toadify on him. I'd like to hear the rules lawyers here weigh in on that though.

3. Would love to hear the answer to this one.

Zapranoth said:

2. I think that if you had two spells applicable to battle or just before battle (eg, Finger of Death and Toadification), if you were attacked by a player (in battle), you could cast finger of death, then toadify on him. I'd like to hear the rules lawyers here weigh in on that though.

This one to me is clear. If you're attacked by another character, then it is not your turn. Thus, 1 Spell for you max.

As for BR, I'd probably play that each attack is a "turn" by the attacker, thus each time the OC attacks, Sprite can cast 1 Spell. If she were to somehow win a combat, then she would be the attacker and it would be considered her turn, thus she'd be able to cast X spells, where X is the # of spells she had at the start of her "turn".

Thank you both.

I'll probably go with Dam's opinion.

Does exist some final agreement here on the forum in case of Battle Royal? Each attack is one turn of an attacker?