Dropping Items Over Capacity Limit

By EvilEdwin, in Talisman Rules Questions

We've had the following situation come up a few times in our games today and can't really decide how this sound work.

Someone has a Horse and Cart, with near full capacity, and then encounters the Dungeon Keeper. He loses all of his followers and then has to drop items to reach his new item limit. Since the Dungeon Keeper is a number four, is he then able to pick up the items he dropped because they come later in the number sequence, or must he return to that space at a later point to encounter his old items.

Also am I right in assuming that you can buy back your followers in the same turn you lose them?

Cheers.

EvilEdwin said:

We've had the following situation come up a few times in our games today and can't really decide how this sound work.

Someone has a Horse and Cart, with near full capacity, and then encounters the Dungeon Keeper. He loses all of his followers and then has to items to reach his new item limit. Since the Dungeon Keeper is a number four, is he then able to pick up the items he dropped because they come later in the number sequence, or must he return to that space at a later point to encounter his old items.

Also am I right in assuming that you can buy back your followers in the same turn you lose them?

Cheers.

When you lose Mule, Horse & Cart & similars you must immediately DITCH the Objects that you can't carry anymore on the space (you choose which ones). See page 16 of the Rulebook: when you ditch Objects/Followers you can't pick them up in the same Turn.

Rulebook is not 100% clear and does not say that extra Objects are "ditched" on the space, but I think this is the way to handle the situation.