When invading a hostile system containing 2 or more planets with a fleet containing one war sun can the war sun bombard every planet or just one?
Planetary Bombardment Question
Just one.
It will get three bombardment shots against the planet though, so whichever one it picks you're almost guaranteed to win.
Thought so, had a heckuva argument over that last weekend, what it boiled down to was that the player was short-sighted & didn't bring enough ground troops to seize both planets & after getting one of them, tried to say he could bombard both that round, I said he couldn't, whining & moaning ensued. Thanks possum.
Note also that you cannot SPLIT the bombardment, either; the War Sun has to commit to one or the other.
The only way you can bombard multiple planets is if you have multiple ships; you can choose which ships bombard which planet, but no ship can bombard more than one planet.
Also, if memory serves there is a political backlash for bombarding planets. A small rule and often overlooked, but one which me and mine thoroughly enjoy. The diplomats and news media tend to get uppity when you around glassing entire planets with your big ass guns.
Steve-O said:
Also, if memory serves there is a political backlash for bombarding planets. A small rule and often overlooked, but one which me and mine thoroughly enjoy. The diplomats and news media tend to get uppity when you around glassing entire planets with your big ass guns.
Now that's a rule I've missed... I know there are a few Political and Action Cards that deal with bombardments. Can you tell me where that rule is?
This is incorrect there are no penalties for bombardment.
The only similar rule is a die roll if you razing a Distant Suns counter that carries a possible penalty. The use of X-89 in lieu of bombardment also forces discard of all action cards.
johnnylump said:
This is incorrect there are no penalties for bombardment.
The only similar rule is a die roll if you razing a Distant Suns counter that carries a possible penalty. The use of X-89 in lieu of bombardment also forces discard of all action cards.
My bad, that rule is only when razing DS tokens. We've been doing it for all bombardments. Guess the rule is more overlooked than we thought, considering we've been overlooking ourselves that fact that it's DS only!