Transference Spell [The Reaper]

By Gentlegamer, in Talisman

Transference - Cast on yourself instead of your normal move. Switch spaces with any other character in your Region.

This is a very, very powerful spell! As long as you can get to the Inner Region, you can bump out a character who is at the Crown of Command, taking his place, and you don't even need a Talisman!

My Wizard used this in a come from behind desperation bid to defeat the Elf who was at the Crown of Command. I picked the lock on the Portal of Power (Craft 5, rolled a 4). I then moved to the Plain of Peril. On my next turn, I cast the spell and switched spaces with the Elf, and used the Command Spell to kill him, winning the game.

Gentlegamer said:

Transference - Cast on yourself instead of your normal move. Switch spaces with any other character in your Region.

This is a very, very powerful spell! As long as you can get to the Inner Region, you can bump out a character who is at the Crown of Command, taking his place, and you don't even need a Talisman!

My Wizard used this in a come from behind desperation bid to defeat the Elf who was at the Crown of Command. I picked the lock on the Portal of Power (Craft 5, rolled a 4). I then moved to the Plain of Peril. On my next turn, I cast the spell and switched spaces with the Elf, and used the Command Spell to kill him, winning the game.

Actually, the 'Crown of Command' may not be a part of the Inner Region, and may be a region unto itself. So you may not be able to do that.

Also, you may not be able to do it switch with someone -- if you don't have a Talisman -- in the Valley of Fire either as you require a Talisman to enter.

Edit: In regards to the Valley of Fire:

In any instance where a special ability or effect is at a variance with the basic rules, the special ability or effect always overrides the rules.

So this may in fact be possible, which is rather cheeky.

Although, I may be completely wrong on both counts, if Elliot can clear it up, that would be great. :D

1) In summary, the Transference Spell cannot be used in the Inner Region (it is not actually stated on the Spell card - oops we missed it out). A character must move 1 space per turn in the Inner Region period.

2) The Crown of Command is actually a space within the Inner Region. It is not considered to be a Region of its own.

talismanamsilat said:

1) In summary, the Transference Spell cannot be used in the Inner Region (it is not actually stated on the Spell card - oops we missed it out). A character must move 1 space per turn in the Inner Region period.

2) The Crown of Command is actually a space within the Inner Region. It is not considered to be a Region of its own.

And that boys and girls is the story of how the new Talisman F.A.Q. was formed... lengua.gif

talismanamsilat said:

1) In summary, the Transference Spell cannot be used in the Inner Region (it is not actually stated on the Spell card - oops we missed it out). A character must move 1 space per turn in the Inner Region period.

2) The Crown of Command is actually a space within the Inner Region. It is not considered to be a Region of its own.

It felt like it ought to be illegal, that's for sure. Though, at the same time, it seemed to be in the spirit of the game itself.

Personally I think I will house rule this and play with the ability to use this spell in the inner region. It seems like it would be a great way to give players one last chance at the end of the game to turn things around. Helps offset the watered down Raiders card I suppose. At any rate playing with this allowed in the inner region someone who is smart will try to hold a counter spell just for this purpose.

That's true Brando, house rule it! However, it would be wrong to allow the use of the Transference Spell in the Inner Region, as it violates the most important rule of only moving 1 space per turn in there. That's why you are not permitted to cast Teleport Spells in the Inner Region.

talismanamsilat said:

That's true Brando, house rule it! However, it would be wrong to allow the use of the Transference Spell in the Inner Region, as it violates the most important rule of only moving 1 space per turn in there. That's why you are not permitted to cast Teleport Spells in the Inner Region.

Gentlegamer said:

What if you used the spell while on the Plane of Peril to trade spaces with another character that was on the Crypt or Mines space (which is 1 space away)? For that matter, what of using the spell to trade spaces with another character that is on a space adjacent to you while in the Inner Region, such as the Valley of Fire and Crown of Command?

Theoretically there is no rule in the rule book to prevent a character from doing as you have suggested. However, I will speak with John G. to include this question in the FAQ. You will then all have the definitive answer!

Just wanted to correct a misinterpretation being posited here. You CAN legally play Transference while in the Inner Region. My source - the inestimable John Goodenough himself. Here's the direct quote on this question:

"Yes, you can cast Transference in the Inner Region just as long as you are also in the Inner Region. The ruling gets fairly specific but the important wording is "instead of your normal move" on the Spell. Note that while you can cast Transference in the Inner Region you CANNOT cast the Teleport Spell. The difference is that Teleport is cast instead of rolling the die for your move and you do not roll a die for your move in the Inner Region. Another example is if you had the Poltergeist Follower and were forced to move 1 space a turn instead of rolling a die for your move. You cannot cast Teleport if you have the Poltergeist because you cannot roll a die for your move."

Like I always say, "If it's Goodenough for John, it's Goodenough for me." (See what I did there?) :P

PS. Where's the Quote feature in these new forums. Weird.

Wytefang said:

Just wanted to correct a misinterpretation being posited here. You CAN legally play Transference while in the Inner Region. My source - the inestimable John Goodenough himself. Here's the direct quote on this question:

"Yes, you can cast Transference in the Inner Region just as long as you are also in the Inner Region. The ruling gets fairly specific but the important wording is "instead of your normal move" on the Spell. Note that while you can cast Transference in the Inner Region you CANNOT cast the Teleport Spell. The difference is that Teleport is cast instead of rolling the die for your move and you do not roll a die for your move in the Inner Region. Another example is if you had the Poltergeist Follower and were forced to move 1 space a turn instead of rolling a die for your move. You cannot cast Teleport if you have the Poltergeist because you cannot roll a die for your move."

Like I always say, "If it's Goodenough for John, it's Goodenough for me." (See what I did there?) :P

PS. Where's the Quote feature in these new forums. Weird.

Although I appreciate that John is "the man" when it comes to a final say on a rule, I really dont like the idea of how this can work. The possibility that somoene could get onto the Crown of Command without actually having a Talisman, which completely goes against what the game is all about, really irks me. Not to mention that the Valley of Fire claims that the only way to get to the Crown of Command is though this space, and with this spell that is obviously not true.

SubElement said:

Wytefang said:

Just wanted to correct a misinterpretation being posited here. You CAN legally play Transference while in the Inner Region. My source - the inestimable John Goodenough himself. Here's the direct quote on this question:

"Yes, you can cast Transference in the Inner Region just as long as you are also in the Inner Region. The ruling gets fairly specific but the important wording is "instead of your normal move" on the Spell. Note that while you can cast Transference in the Inner Region you CANNOT cast the Teleport Spell. The difference is that Teleport is cast instead of rolling the die for your move and you do not roll a die for your move in the Inner Region. Another example is if you had the Poltergeist Follower and were forced to move 1 space a turn instead of rolling a die for your move. You cannot cast Teleport if you have the Poltergeist because you cannot roll a die for your move."

Like I always say, "If it's Goodenough for John, it's Goodenough for me." (See what I did there?) :P

PS. Where's the Quote feature in these new forums. Weird.

Although I appreciate that John is "the man" when it comes to a final say on a rule, I really dont like the idea of how this can work. The possibility that somoene could get onto the Crown of Command without actually having a Talisman, which completely goes against what the game is all about, really irks me. Not to mention that the Valley of Fire claims that the only way to get to the Crown of Command is though this space, and with this spell that is obviously not true.

Yeah, I agree, definite house rule for me

SubElement said:

Wytefang said:

Just wanted to correct a misinterpretation being posited here. You CAN legally play Transference while in the Inner Region. My source - the inestimable John Goodenough himself. Here's the direct quote on this question:

"Yes, you can cast Transference in the Inner Region just as long as you are also in the Inner Region. The ruling gets fairly specific but the important wording is "instead of your normal move" on the Spell. Note that while you can cast Transference in the Inner Region you CANNOT cast the Teleport Spell. The difference is that Teleport is cast instead of rolling the die for your move and you do not roll a die for your move in the Inner Region. Another example is if you had the Poltergeist Follower and were forced to move 1 space a turn instead of rolling a die for your move. You cannot cast Teleport if you have the Poltergeist because you cannot roll a die for your move."

Like I always say, "If it's Goodenough for John, it's Goodenough for me." (See what I did there?) :P

PS. Where's the Quote feature in these new forums. Weird.

Although I appreciate that John is "the man" when it comes to a final say on a rule, I really dont like the idea of how this can work. The possibility that somoene could get onto the Crown of Command without actually having a Talisman, which completely goes against what the game is all about, really irks me. Not to mention that the Valley of Fire claims that the only way to get to the Crown of Command is though this space, and with this spell that is obviously not true.

That's your perogative, certainly. I had no issues with this and it added a fun twist to the end-game for us as I raced to catch back up with the transferred character. I prefer to play by the official rules so that's why I posted this clarification - take it or leave it, it's up to you. ;)

SubElement said:

Although I appreciate that John is "the man" when it comes to a final say on a rule, I really dont like the idea of how this can work. The possibility that somoene could get onto the Crown of Command without actually having a Talisman, which completely goes against what the game is all about, really irks me. Not to mention that the Valley of Fire claims that the only way to get to the Crown of Command is though this space, and with this spell that is obviously not true.

I really like how this spell can be used in the inner region because it gives players another way to come from behind. As far as must having a Talisman, there were other things that let people plop right on the crown without having a talisman. The last space in the dungeon was a shortcut if you rolled a six. There was also a wizard tower and dragonwing cape so the game already has examples of getting around the valley of fire. This spell just happens to be another option added to that list.

A thought just occured to me.

The spell says "instead of your normal move". Could it be interpreted that a normal move is roll a die, move that many spaces ? By this reasoning, moving in the inner region would not be normal move, so the spell wouldn't work there.

What do you think?

Bludgeon said:

A thought just occured to me.

The spell says "instead of your normal move". Could it be interpreted that a normal move is roll a die, move that many spaces ? By this reasoning, moving in the inner region would not be normal move, so the spell wouldn't work there.

What do you think?

Surely this can be a solution.

Just compare it to Teleport spell: Teleport says that you must cast it before you roll the die for movement, but if you have the Poltergeist or suffer the effects of Blizzard, you don't roll the die and can't use Teleport (or you may cast it and move only one space, but I don't like this nonsense).

Transference has a different wording, but how should you handle the same situation with this spell? Would you allow the player to switch places with another one, thus moving a lot of spaces even with Poltergeist/Blizzard? I don't believe so.

Teleport can't be used in the Inner Region, in order to prevent players from skipping the challenges there. Transference is even more powerful, allowing a probably weaker Character to gain immediate access to Crown of Command and kick out another one, who gained regular access to the area.

Let's do another example. If a Character (with no Talisman) is on the Plain of Peril, the other is on the Werewolf, and the next turn the first moves to Mines and manages to stay there, while the other gains access to Valley of Fire, what if next turn the first casts Transference? They switch positions, the first is on the Valley of Fire (with no Talisman) and the second is on the Mines. What now?

- Can the first gain access to Valley of Fire with no Talisman?

- Can the second player move to Vampire's Tower next turn, should he face the Mines before or is he forced to turn back?

Transference has more reasons not to work in the Inner Region than Teleport. It can raise a bunch of questions that are not easy to answer.

A considerable effort has been done to limit and clarify the power of certain Spells, like Psionic Blast (add only Craft value=starting Craft), Immobility (now you must cast it at the start of someone's turn, not as required) and Teleport (see above). I'm surprised that John Goodenough shows a completely different attitude towards Transference... well, if this is the official rule, I will treat Transference like Teleport, making my first house rule for Talisman.

Bludgeon said:

A thought just occured to me.

The spell says "instead of your normal move". Could it be interpreted that a normal move is roll a die, move that many spaces ? By this reasoning, moving in the inner region would not be normal move, so the spell wouldn't work there.

What do you think?

Eh, I wouldn't interpret it like that. Your normal move in the Inner Region would be to move one space. So instead of doing that, you use Transference.

This spell is very nasty.

If someone is on the crown of command, you can switch from position hehe partido_risa.gif

l sent a rules question to FFG on the 6 Feb 09.

l asked this question. Can you use the Transference Spell on a Character in the Inner Region or on the Crown of Command Space if you are in the lnner Region.

l got an answer on the same day from John Goodenough himself saying (Yes).

So there's your answer from the horses mouth, you can't ask better than that.

If you have that spell, then you have a chance of winning, unless the other player has counter magic.

gran_risa.gif I keep this in mind.

If i draw demigod, then i am going to pick up that spell lol partido_risa.gif