Gypsy Counterspell ???

By Teamstp, in Talisman Rules Questions

So I have a scenario that brought great debate in last nights game.

Game Stats:

Necromancer - Craft: 10 Spells: Counterspell, Random

Gypsy - Craft: 11 Spells: Shatter, Invisibility

Sequence of Events:

1. Beginning of Gypsy's turn she casts shatter on his Talisman.

2. Necromancer casts Counterspell on the Shatter

3. Counterspell hits the discard pile and Gypsy picks it up and uses it to Counterspell the Shatter.

Is this a legal use of the Gypsy's ability to pick up spells? Can the Gypsy immediatly pick up a spell and use it if her craft allows and she has enough spells in hand at the beginning of her turn to cast another spell?

Let me know what you guys think?

Thanks for any replies.

In my opinion you must have a spell in hand to be able to use it.

Theoretically you keep any spell card in your hand until the effects have been complete, and then you discard the spell. With the spell being 100 % complete you can't counter it from the discard pile.

danjr said:

In my opinion you must have a spell in hand to be able to use it.

Theoretically you keep any spell card in your hand until the effects have been complete, and then you discard the spell. With the spell being 100 % complete you can't counter it from the discard pile.

Agreed, I think that when a spell hits the discard pile, all the chain of spells must be considered resolved.

Yes guys this is correct. A Spell is only placed on the discard pile when its effect has ended. So the Gypsy could not have cast Counterspell at that time to counter the original Counterspell!

Ell.

This brings about a little more confusion for me.

If the Gypsy had a counter spells in her hand at the time, then she could have countered the counterspell?

What if it was the sequence was G - Shatter / N - Reflect / G- Counterspell / N-Counterspell/

Which spell is the gypsy allow to take? The last spell used or any of the 4 in the sequence?

MishaMonster said:

If the Gypsy had a counter spells in her hand at the time, then she could have countered the counterspell?

What if it was the sequence was G - Shatter / N - Reflect / G- Counterspell / N-Counterspell/

Which spell is the gypsy allow to take? The last spell used or any of the 4 in the sequence?

Whose turn is it to begin with? The one whose turn it isn't can only cast 1 spell, so either of them can only cast 1. However, let's say the last Spell in the sequence was cast by a third character (Warlock for example). Then I'd say the Gypsy can take both Reflection and Counterspell after you resolved the sequence. Note that the Gypsy can't take any of the spells she casts ("another character" it says in the ability text).

Thanks for this.

The questions I asked was not very well thought out by me..

However, you answered it well.

i guess my main concern in the sequence should have been "Can the gypsy only pick up the LAST spell cast by another player, or can she pick up any spell in a sequence cast by another player".

the Gypsy may pick up any number of spells just cast, as long as her craft value allows her to hold them. A character may cast as many spells as it had in posession at the start of the turn, no matter if it's a spell aquired during that turn or a spell already in posession at the start of the turn. In my opinion this means she can usethe newly aquired counterspell immediately in this case.

toad slime-a-lot said:

the Gypsy may pick up any number of spells just cast, as long as her craft value allows her to hold them. A character may cast as many spells as it had in posession at the start of the turn, no matter if it's a spell aquired during that turn or a spell already in posession at the start of the turn. In my opinion this means she can usethe newly aquired counterspell immediately in this case.

From the Gypsy: "Whenever another character places a Spell on the discard pile, you may take it and add it to your own Spells, if your Craft allows."

From the rules: "Once a spell is cast and its effect has ended, it is placed on the Spell Card discard pile"

A character places a spell on the discard pile when the Spell's effect has ended. This means the Gypsy cannot pick up a Spell from the discard pile to affect another Spel that has already been cast and completed. Period! She may however pick up the Spell to use at another time.

Ell.

Sorry, my mistake, we've lost the rules years ago, but this is how we interpreted it so far. Could anyone mail me the rules for the 2nd edition to [email protected]? And maybe the Dungeon rules as well? Or tell me where i can download them myself? Thanx a bunch!

Follow the link below to Talisman Island - the best resource for Talisman in the whole wide world!!!

www.talismanisland.com/rules.htm

Ell.

Thanx, found it. Maybe you can tell me where I can find some missing cards/characters as well? I couldn't find them on Talisman Island.

This situation shouldn't have come up really. Shatter has to be cast at the beginning of another player's turn, and since you can only cast one Spell in another player's turn, the Gypsy wouldn't have been able to use the Counterspell anyway.