Tons of questions

By erc1971, in Talisman Rules Questions

We had a nice long and fun game of Talisman last night, but during the game, a ton of questions popped up. Some of them I suspect I know the answer but I am asking for clarification, and some of them I am completely clueless on.

1: Can you use Fate to reroll the Reaper's movement?

2: Can you use Fate to reroll the effects of the Reaper when he lands on you?

3: Can the assassin assassinate monster cards when he lands on a space and draws them?

4: Can the assassin assassinate the sentinal, the monsters at the end spaces of the Dungeon and the Highlands (basically, all the monsters that are part of the board, and therefore already face up on the space)?

5: If you get to roll 2 dice for movement and add them together, do you get to move the reaper if you roll a "1" on one of the die or both dice?

6: If you get to roll 2 dice for movement and get to choose one of them for movement, do you get to move the reaper if you roll a "1" on one of the dice and decide to move 1 space? What if you roll a "1" on one of the dice and choose to use the other die as your movement?

I think I got them all.

Thanks,

Eric

Aha, I knew there was 1 more question...

7: The amulet. It keeps you from being targeted by spells, but does it protect your items and/or followers from being the target of a spell?

Thanks again,

Eric

1. No.

2. Yes.

3. I think he shouldn't be able to, but I believe the rulebook says yes.

4. I would say no.

5. I would say yes... you are rolling and accepting a 1 for movement in that instance, after all, even if you're adding it to another die roll.

6. The way my group plays, if you pick the 1 for movement, then you roll for death; if you pick something other than 1, then you don't roll for death.

"7: The amulet. It keeps you from being targeted by spells, but does it protect your items and/or followers from being the target of a spell?"

Hmm. No one in my group has ever brought this up. I guess we all assumed that if you had the amulet, nothing of yours could be targeted either. But that might be a good question.

I'd have to see the exact phrasing that the card uses, and unfortunately my Talisman game is at my sister's house.

erc1971 said:

3: Can the assassin assassinate monster cards when he lands on a space and draws them?

4: Can the assassin assassinate the sentinal, the monsters at the end spaces of the Dungeon and the Highlands (basically, all the monsters that are part of the board, and therefore already face up on the space)?

7: The amulet. It keeps you from being targeted by spells, but does it protect your items and/or followers from being the target of a spell?

#3: Yes.

#4: Yes, basically only time he can't assassinate is when another char attacks him, otherwise, if he is in battle, he can assassinate.

#7: FAQ, p. 2:

"Amulet
Q1: The Amulet states “No Spells will affect you, other than
the Command Spell.” Does this also imply that a character’s
Objects, Followers, Spells, and gold are unaffected by Spells
if he has the Amulet?

A: Yes."

I think that when you roll 2 dices for movement and add them up, you NEVER move the reaper. It's on the FAQ somewhere.